Stuffed Pepper Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I thought I'd save some time by simply adding the rice to the soup & letting it cook in the broth...it absorbed all the liquid, and the recipe isn't soup anymore! It turned out more like a stew, and has an absolutely wonderful taste! I may not ever make regular stuffed peppers again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Wonderful stuff! If I could give this 10 stars, i would. I made a few changes and it came out tasting exactly like stuffed peppers. I did not use sage,my opinion is sage does not belong in this dish. I did use 1 tsp oregano,1 tsp basil, 1 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp accent. I also cooked the rice in the mixture and used 1/2 beef broth too. It did come out very thick but that is how we like it. Next time i will add a small can of tomato paste because i like more of a tomato flavor. I did not add taco seasoning like others did. Next time i will try this with cabbage. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie bond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Such an AWESOME recipe!! I add a little twist to mine though. Even though I cook my rice first before adding it to the mix, I do find there is quite a bit of absorption of the juice, taking away from the soup. So what I do is add, depending on the quantity I am making, a few cans of beef broth. I think using the beef, with the chicken broth, adds a little compliment to the entire mix making a great meld of flavors! Using the extra broth keeps this soup, just what it is, soup and not a rice mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beezer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
My husband first tasted stuffed pepper soup in a resturant and we both loved it. I checked allrecipes.com and found this one and feel like I hit a jackpot. It is not only very easy to prepare but it tastes just like we had. Thank you for sharing your recipes. I have also given this recipe to 7 co-workers. All of them are coming back with rave reviews.Gail B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I have to tell you a secret--I don't like bell peppers-at all. Period. I decided to try this recipe because my other half loves stuffed peppers. I added more minced garlic when I was sweating the onions and it was tasty! This recipe does not have the overpowering taste of bell peppers and I love that. After I added the rice I had to add more liquid because the rice soaked it up, but that's ok! The day after it's good too. It's more of a goulash consistency, but oh so yummy. My family LOVES this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I just made this soup but I changed some of the ingred. and made it a 5 star according to my husband. Used 1 lb. free-range ground chicken plus 1/2 lb. ground round. Also added celery and garlic with the onions and peppers. I used 3 orange and yellow peppers instead of green. I also used 1/2 carton organic beef broth and 3/4 carton organic chicken broth and 2 cans of diced tomatoes coarsely pureed. I added organic brown uncooked rice after the above came to a boil and simmered it for 45 minutes or so. Then I added several spices. My family raved about it and said I could make it anytime! I probably just about doubled the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
LOVED IT. I agree that I wanted a tad more flavor than the seasonings indicated - so I added a splash of red wine, some garlic and basil as well as a little worcestershire sauce when I was browning the meat. None of my personal seasoning decisions make this less than as written - I just wanted it to have a bit more kick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was honestly the best I've had in a long time. Hubby is a food snob, and still loved it! In fact... has asked for it twice since we had it the first time about a month ago!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This soup is soooo good. My husband and I also had this soup in a resturant and enjoyed it so much that I had to try to make it at home. I made this soup using turkey meat instead of ground meat and it was just as good and a less less fat. I also substituted beef broth instead of the water to give it more flavor....DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Great flavor and filling dinner. This is a great recipe a quick throw-together dinner. I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I did add one more bell pepper and omitted the sage (just don't like the taste of it in anything). Also used one can of Rotel and one 14 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of one 28 oz can of tomatoes. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States