Stuffed Pepper Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I left out the cinnamon and sugar. My family loves tihs on a cool/cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very good. I'm a soup lover and a stuffed pepper lover and this fit both of those bills. I didn't care for the cinnamon and added beef broth instead of water. Also added extra garlic and more seasonings to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very good! I spiced mine up a little by adding hot sausage with the ground beef, and adding extra garlic. I put everything in the slower cooker on low for about 5 hours. Easy and tasty, thank you Barb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
What I liked so much about this recipe is the cooking method and basic ingredients. Most recipes I found only used one or two peppers at most and that didn't sound appealing for a soup with "stuffed pepper" in the title. This is an excellent base recipe. I find it extremely hard to completely cook a recipe as it is written and this recipe was a great recipe to be able to modify to suit my own tastes. I added some diced dried red chili peppers, basil, oregano, rosemary, thyme, and peppercorn melange to the green peppers and meat while they were cooking so that the spices would have a chance to bloom. I also used 1lb extra lean ground beef rather than just 1/2 pound. I added in extra garlic and substituted beef broth for some of the water. I didn't have any crushed tomatoes or juice so I substituted 12 oz of tomato paste and 24 oz of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I followed this recipe to the "T". The only thing I DID do differently was in place of the rice, I used egg noodles. Several of the reviews said the rice still absorbed most of the liquid, and because we like soup to have liquid, to try to reduce the chances of that happening, I tried the noodles instead. I thought the soup was kind of bland. Definately needed something else. We weren't impressed, which really disappointed me. I was hoping for a new favorite home made soup. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Avellino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I had to make a few changes to get it to a 5 star for our tastes but made it as written the first time. We could barely taste the green pepper, so I ended up DOUBLING the peppers, adding extra garlic & a can of tomato paste. For us, this equaled perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This soup was fantastic! My family all liked it alot!It is unusual for everyone to like the same thing. I added Beef Broth instead of water, used 1 lb of ground beef, 29 ounce can of diced tomatoes and 3/4 cup of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Elgersma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was by far the best soup I have ever made!!! I used ground turkey instead (and added mushrooms too)and it tasted wonderful!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I've made this about 5x over this winter, sometimes I use more or less of everything depending on what's on hand & it never disappoints - hearty & yummy all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Tasted OK. I added quite a few other ingredients to make a better flavor. I added thyme, worcestshire sauce and rosemary. I used beef broth instead of water and increased the amount of salt and pepper. The soup ended up rather thick, but that could easily be remedied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States