Stuffed Pepper Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
VERY FLAVORFUL AND COMFORTY. WILL DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe. Freezes really well and works better as leftovers than do regular stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I love recipes like this that are tasty, flexible with ingredients, and come together easily. I diced the onion, celery and green pepper fairly small and used a can of condensed tomato soup and petite diced tomatoes. Chicken broth (because I had some), water, beef bouillon and added instant rice after I let everything simmer for a while. Dried parsley but next time I'm using fresh. Just as good as stuffing peppers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was really good. I pretty much followed the recipe (didn't have crushed tomatoes, so used a can of diced) although it didn't seem like 1/4 cup of rice was enough so I added probably closer to 3/4 or maybe even a full cup. Of course then it wasn't soup!! But still really tasty. I will freeze what's left over and actually stuff peppers with it another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this one, doubled the recipe, doubled the amount of garlic, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, a little more ground beef which I browned first, beef broth for water, added basil & oreganeo, omitted the cinnamon, sautated onion, celery, garlic & bell pepper. Cooked in crock pot for approx 4 hrs. It was Yummy! Better yet the second & third day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey146

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is great! I did make a couple changes. I doubled the vegetables, meat and rice. I used diced tomatoes and spicy V8 juice as those are what I had on hand. I used beef broth instead of water, and I added a couple of dashes of Montreal steak seasoning. I omitted the sugar and cinnamon. If had just been for me, I would have considered trying it, but my man does NOT like even the slightest hint of sweetness in savory dishes, so I didn't chance it. I did end up adding more juice and some water since I doubled the ingredients- maybe about a 1/2 cup total...I wanted this thick, and it was. Filling, comforting and incredibly tasty! I highly recommend the spicy V8 if you like a little kick to your soup! Thanks for a great recipe Barb- I hope you don't mind me tweaking it a bit to suit my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made a double batch of this and ommited cinnamon and sugar. Added mmore tomatoes being it was thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie Lutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This smelled terrific while cooking -- just like stuffed peppers! Easy to make & delicious. Leftovers froze well. I topped the individual bowls with extra sharp cheddar cheese right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Omit the cinnamon and sugar (I don't know about you, but I don't put either in my stuffed peppers...), use beef broth instead of water, use twice as much meat, twice as much garlic, add Worcestershire sauce and a good amount of Montreal Steak Seasoning. Now a five star excellent soup that lives up to its name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Very easy and a good soup. I cut down on the cinnamon as others suggested (1/16th tsp), but I think I will add more next time. I also doubled the meat, but that is just a personal preference. I tend to put more meat in soups and stews. Will do again and often...UPDATE: after doing this several times, I add the cinnamon called for in the recipe, use 4 cups beef broth instead of water and double meat. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States