Stuffed Pattypan Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I followed the method but changed the recipe up. I stuffed the insides with the chopped squash, breadcrumbs, and cheddar cheese. At my grocery store the little yellow ones are called "sunburst squash" and the green are called "pattypan." I don't know if there was something wrong with my squash but they tasted way bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
At the farmer's market I bought a basket of very small baby patty pans, 1-2 inches across, some the pale green, some bright yellow, and some the dark green. Obviously I couldn't stuff them so I cut them in half horizontally and layered the rest of the ingredients on top in a casserole dish. Baked for the same amount of time and OH MY GOODNESS...it was soooooo good. I did sprinkle the top with a bit of extra parmesan to give it a nice browned topping. EXCELLENT. I think this would work no matter the size, the large ones would serve more than one person. I love the tender tiny ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
We only had 2 pattypans from our CSA, so the scaled the recipe down. We didn't have turkey bacon. Instead I chopped a couple of tablespoons of leftover shitake mushroom stems, used italian breadcrumbs and about 1/8 tsp each of the following: Basil, parsley, minced garlic, minced onion, and oregano. Other than that, followed the cooking directions and came out beautifully with an added kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This dish is excellent! Since I'm unfamiliar with pattypan squash and had trouble finding it at the grocery store, I stuck with yellow squash and it turned out great. I boiled 2 10" squashes in enough boiling water for them to float freely in and made sure to turn them so they would cook evenly. I shaved off a side lengthwise to hollow them out, and then followed the rest of the recipe loosely. With the combination of bacon, onion, breadcrumbs, and cheese, you can't go wrong! I did cut down on the breadcrumbs to have a more balanced stuffing. After about 12-14 minutes, a single squash was a hearty side dish to split for two, and was a nice change from the usual potatoes we have on the side. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Made this at Thanksgiving last year and the folks really enjoyed it. They're even better as leftovers. I love yellow squash and am always looking for alternative ways to cook it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
There were great! I used a little less bacon than called for to cut down on fat and sodium. A great recipe with wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
What a great way to use up a whole bunch of pattypans. I used "fakin bakin" instead of real bacon and it turned out really well. I had to cook the squash a little longer than recommended to scoop the insides out properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I had not had pattypan before. This method of cooking was ok, even for my picky daughter! THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I made this recipe for just me using one squash! It was a great lunch. The only changes I made was to use a little provolone cheese as well as parmesan, added fresh basil and oregano and used panko bread crumbs. Cooked it in my toaster oven and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was incredible. Everyone in the family loved it. One thing though. Next time I don't think I'll saute the onion in the bacon drippings but olive or some other unsaturated oil instead. I don't think that would hurt the dish. My arteries are begging for mercy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States