Stuffed Pattypan Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
We only had 2 pattypans from our CSA, so the scaled the recipe down. We didn't have turkey bacon. Instead I chopped a couple of tablespoons of leftover shitake mushroom stems, used italian breadcrumbs and about 1/8 tsp each of the following: Basil, parsley, minced garlic, minced onion, and oregano. Other than that, followed the cooking directions and came out beautifully with an added kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This dish is excellent! Since I'm unfamiliar with pattypan squash and had trouble finding it at the grocery store, I stuck with yellow squash and it turned out great. I boiled 2 10" squashes in enough boiling water for them to float freely in and made sure to turn them so they would cook evenly. I shaved off a side lengthwise to hollow them out, and then followed the rest of the recipe loosely. With the combination of bacon, onion, breadcrumbs, and cheese, you can't go wrong! I did cut down on the breadcrumbs to have a more balanced stuffing. After about 12-14 minutes, a single squash was a hearty side dish to split for two, and was a nice change from the usual potatoes we have on the side. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Made this at Thanksgiving last year and the folks really enjoyed it. They're even better as leftovers. I love yellow squash and am always looking for alternative ways to cook it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
There were great! I used a little less bacon than called for to cut down on fat and sodium. A great recipe with wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
What a great way to use up a whole bunch of pattypans. I used "fakin bakin" instead of real bacon and it turned out really well. I had to cook the squash a little longer than recommended to scoop the insides out properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I had not had pattypan before. This method of cooking was ok, even for my picky daughter! THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I made this recipe for just me using one squash! It was a great lunch. The only changes I made was to use a little provolone cheese as well as parmesan, added fresh basil and oregano and used panko bread crumbs. Cooked it in my toaster oven and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was incredible. Everyone in the family loved it. One thing though. Next time I don't think I'll saute the onion in the bacon drippings but olive or some other unsaturated oil instead. I don't think that would hurt the dish. My arteries are begging for mercy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
The recipe looks fantastic, but I'd like to know how big the squashes are & how much mixture this recipe makes: 1 cup, 2 cups, etc. Also, the squashes pictured are NOT considered pattypans in my area; the little tag that comes with the plant called mine pattypan squash, but are very large - up to 6" to 8" across, greenish-white and have scalloped edges & no green "turban" on top. So, I am not sure how much mixture to make. Thanks for your help! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
VERY YUMMY!! And they are so cute! My husband made this and he cut back on the amount of breadcrumbs, but I think I would have wanted more in there. We also only had colby-jack cheese so we put that in there, though I wished there was more cheese - I LOVE cheese. I would have added more. This is like nothing I have tasted before. An excellent use of the patty pan squash! We will be making this every summer with our patty pan squash! THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States