Stuffed Pattypan Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Pretty yummy! This the first year for pattypans in my garden so I was really looking for a way to cook them. This was great, but I think I am going to keep tinkering to find additional ways to prepare. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This recipe was great! My husband HATES squash of any kind, but when he tasted this recipe he asked me to make it again! It was very tasty,easy to do and a nice way to use the extra squash in my garden. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I used 1/2 cup breadcrumbs, and put slice mozzerella on top. I also got rid of about 1/4 of the squash innerds and still had more than enough to stuff the shells. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Very good, I also added shredded cheddar cheese to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These are awesome little things. :o) I'd never had pattypan squash, but they looked so cute at the farmer's market I had to try. Bf said this recipe reminded him of stuffed mushrooms. Maybe so, but I definitely prefer the squash to the mushroom base! The squash is tender and sweet and the stuffing is salty. Perfect combo! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Served it to my company. We all loved it. I'll be looking for pattypan squash at the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is really easy to make and very delicious. I used Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs and didn't use any salt or pepper. Sometimes I skip the bacon and use leftover chopped meatballs or other cooked meat that I have in the fridge. Chopped fresh basil mixed into the stuffing at the end is nice, too. This is one of my favorite fast and easy meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I followed the method but changed the recipe up. I stuffed the insides with the chopped squash, breadcrumbs, and cheddar cheese. At my grocery store the little yellow ones are called "sunburst squash" and the green are called "pattypan." I don't know if there was something wrong with my squash but they tasted way bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
At the farmer's market I bought a basket of very small baby patty pans, 1-2 inches across, some the pale green, some bright yellow, and some the dark green. Obviously I couldn't stuff them so I cut them in half horizontally and layered the rest of the ingredients on top in a casserole dish. Baked for the same amount of time and OH MY GOODNESS...it was soooooo good. I did sprinkle the top with a bit of extra parmesan to give it a nice browned topping. EXCELLENT. I think this would work no matter the size, the large ones would serve more than one person. I love the tender tiny ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
We only had 2 pattypans from our CSA, so the scaled the recipe down. We didn't have turkey bacon. Instead I chopped a couple of tablespoons of leftover shitake mushroom stems, used italian breadcrumbs and about 1/8 tsp each of the following: Basil, parsley, minced garlic, minced onion, and oregano. Other than that, followed the cooking directions and came out beautifully with an added kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States