Stuffed Pattypan Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I use all sorts of stuff for stuffing... But I give the squash an ice bath and cook it a tad less then fork tender. I also use both green and yellow...the color is much better with a cold bath...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
It was ok. I used another separate squash in order to create more filling. I added the Parmesan on top. It was more work than I expected. All of the bacon grease gets soaked up in the stuffing mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I used on larger squash (5-6 in) and prepared the stuffing for 3 servings. I did saute the onion in the maple smoked bacon drippings (omg good) adding a little prepared mustard ( 1/2 tsp or so ) and added a blend of Italian seasoning to the panko bread crumbs I used. I baked it for 35 minutes due to the size of the squash. Yummy and really quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I especially liked the bacon in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious! We have recently joined a CSA and since we don't eat a lot of zucchini we were looking for recipes to use with it. I first tried this with two small pattypan squash, and it turned out beautifully. Tonight I cooked a big yellow summer squash by boiling it whole for 10 minutes, sliced it in half lengthwise, scooped out the middle and proceeded like I did with the pattypans. I think the long squash was easier to work with, but the results were very similar. Any summer squash/zucchini would work fine. I increased the bacon a little since it is JUST SO GOOD, sprinkled a little extra parm on top and drizzled with a tiny bit of olive oil before baking, to brown it. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong, but this did not turn out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Excellent. Used Italian sausage instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Tried this recipe just as it's written, altered for 4 servings. The kids loved it, I loved it, and none of us love squash. When I make it again, I'll use some fresh herbs to give it a bit more flavor, but it really was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was the first time I tried pattypan squash. Very tasty recipe. Didn't change a thing except that I used turkey bacon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I really loved it and I don't really like squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States