Stuffed Mushrooms with Swiss Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe is so great! The "stuffing" or creme you make to put inside the mushrooms, it tastes soo good! You could use that alone for mushroom soup! There is a little too much butter, maybe a little less?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These are great!! My hubby loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe for New Years Eve for a few friends. It was well received. I did reduce the butter as previously suggested and only drizzled a couple of tablespoons over the caps prior to stuffing. I also added about 2 tablespoons of bread crumbs to the mixture to thicken the mixture. The results were wonderful. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Vicki Merritt Barbour
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Fab recipe, easy quick and tastes delicious. My husband said they were the best ever. Will definately make again and am sharing at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I agree that there is just a bit too much butter. Having said that I used 12 medium sized portobella mushrooms and had to use some bread crumbs and chop up about 10 baby bellas to have enough filling. With that said, I only used 4 tbsp. of butter. I liked them but weren't my favorite stuffed mushroom appetizers. The mushroom seemed to overwhelm the filling. Maybe I need to double all of the ingredients for 12 mushrooms. Just an idea! Problem is in a recipe sometimes the 'large fresh mushrooms' are a different size than the ones we use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
OH MY GOODNESS. These are heavenly! The only change I made was that I used slices of swiss cheese instead of shredded (which of course makes no difference in the flavor) because I had it on hand. WOW. Follow the recipe exactly. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwrig117

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
WOW! These are amazing. I think they are even better than the ones I have had in many restaurants and not as heavy. I've made them several times and everyone goes crazy over them. I always end up with a little extra stuffing which I happily snack on while the mushrooms are cooking in the oven. Very nice recipe and will become a regular when I host!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cairocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
These are by far the best stuffed mushrooms I've ever eaten...made them quite a few times and will keep making them...they sure are a hit when I make them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
loved 'em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
After reading some of the other reviews I agreed that it was WAY too much butter. I skipped the drizzle part and used probably 3 T. or less to saute stems, onion and two large garlic cloves, adding a bit of red wine as they softened. (Could have used even less butter or maybe part olive oil?) There seemed to be plenty of buttery goodness that overflowed while in the oven! I also tried both baby bella mushrooms and buttons. I found the portabellas held their shape better but both were delicious. I carved into the caps a bit more than just the stem to have more room for filling and more mushroom for stuffing. I then added some Italian bread crumbs to hold it all together. Excellent recipe, just cut down on the butter. Hunny LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States