Stuffed Mushrooms with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
These were wonderful but I changed the recipe to reduce the amount of fat. First I did not add any butter in the 13x9 pan and it wasn't missed at all. Secondly I used olive oil to sautee the onions and garlic. I sprayed the mushrooms with butter flavored pam before cooking. I did as others suggested and cooked the mushrooms in the microwave for 5 minutes before stuffing to reduce the water content. I also used a melon ball scooper to remove the stems. It worked great! Finally, I used turkey bacon. I used skim milk and a little cream and they held together great. I sprinked parm. cheese on them right before baking. Best mushrooms ever! I promise you won't miss the fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was AWESOME!!!!! I did however, make a few changes to the directions, not the ingredients. Instead of large mushrooms I used regular mushrooms so that they were more of a "finger food". I also made the filling the night before so that it would cut down on the prep time for the next day. These were so yummy that my friend who doesn't usually eat mushrooms, wanted the recipe!!! A must for any gathering....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Excellent recipe! I made it verbatim the first time, but the second time I made them I was running short on time, so I cheated...I used a box of Stouffers frozen spinach souffle, and onced cooked and cooled a bit, I mixed in a little minced onion and bacon...tasted EXACTLY the same with a 1/3 of the prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
These mushrooms were fantastic and went quickly. I loved them and will definitely make them again. I used 3/4 c of fresh spinach but next time I will probably use a whole cup. I might also make 1 1/2 times the filling so I can pile it on high. Also a good tip would be to sautee the mushrooms before baking to get the extra water out of them. They were kind of messy to eat with the juice dripping out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
To make it healthier, I used olive oil instead of butter and used milk instead of cream. Still very rich and delicious. I've made it a number of times for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Served these at a wine tasting and they were gone in no time. Everyone loved them. Very easy to make. Actually made them the day before and baked them just before the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
The mushrooms were great but the real crowd pleasure was from tnhe left over filling. I put it in a dish added grated parm to the top and baked it along with the mushrooms. I served it with hawaiian bread and tortilla chips. EVERYONE at our party RAVED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This recipe was great! I ommitted the bacon and made a great vegetarian appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Awesome, I brought these to my Mom's (where I am known to bring my stuffed mushrooms). These were a great change from the sausage shrooms that I usually bring. We loved the spinich in these. I skipped drizzling the butter on the top & microwaved them for 5 minutes, perfect! I suggest investing in a melon baller if you make these often, it makes it much easier to remove the stem. Fantastic recipe Gail, - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
This recipe appealed to me b/c of the use of spinach in the stuffing mix. This recipe was fantastic! I was able to put it all together, even with two girls 2 yrs. and under. I did make a point of doing some of the prep work during their nap time. Also, I substituted 5 oz. of fresh chopped spinach for the frozen spinach. I also sprinkled the stuffed mushrooms with parmesan before putting them into the oven. We definitely plan to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States