Stuffed Mushrooms with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Not sure where I went wrong but this was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this with the sauteed spinach like suggested and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
In 2010 I gave this recipe a 5 star. Making this today, I give this a 3 star. Here's the differences I made when cooking, which I believe is the reason for the 3-5 star difference. 2010 VERSION - I used 5 portobello mushrooms (instead of the 12 large mushrooms) and doubled the recipe. Because the portobello mushrooms have such a small stem compared to the cap, there wasn't very much mushroom in the stuffing. I also made sure to drain the cooked spinach very very well. After I finished cooking the stuffing (hadn't stuffed them into the mushroom yet), the stuffing tasted amazingly delicious, very creamy, and full of flavor. TODAY'S 2013 VERSION - I used 12 large mushrooms, like how the recipes asks for. Because large mushrooms have a gigantic stem compared to the cap, I ended up with a LOT of chopped mushroom in the stem. This made the ratio between the heavy cream and mushroom/bacon/spinach a lot smaller. I also drained the spinach well, but not as well as the 2010 version. So when I finished cooking the stuffing, it seemed like there was barely any cream and mostly just spinach/mushroom/bacon. I even added an extra 1/4 cup of cream but it was definitely not as full of cream as the 2010 version. When I tasted it, it wasn't amazing. Just good. CONCLUSION - If you're using portobello mushrooms, use all the stems in the stuffing. If you're using large mushrooms, only use half of the stems or less. And make sure you drain the spinach very very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claiyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
High fives all around from my family. I followed the recipe exactly, except for subbing scallions for the onion (couldn't see cutting into a whole onion just for 2 tablespoons). I'm thinking about adding just a dash of nutmeg next timesince spinach and nutmeg pair so well together. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Made this for my boyfriend and his friends and they loved it. I actually bought pre cooked bacon and then heated it up in the microwave to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made these exactly as written and they were delicious. The absolute best stuffed mushrooms I have ever made. I had a little bit of the stuffing mixture left over and so we ate it up with tortilla chips. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Excellent .. but a lot of work. I scooped out the centers of the mushrooms before filling it gave it more room and less likely to fall out when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Everyone loved these mushrooms. They're so flavorful and so different from the breadcrumb version. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used light cream (all I had on hand) with wonderful results, and I did not drizzle on the melted butter before baking; it wasn't even missed. A delicious appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
So Yummy! I used swiss chard instead of spinach, as my garden is over producing that stuff! Chopped up stalks very small and fried in a little oil! Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Great recipe..its going to be my second time making this appetizer! The entire family loves it. Used all ingredients except onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States