Stuffed Mushrooms III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This definitely did not turn out the way I had hoped. I served them at an appetizer party and at least half the tray was left. I used about 24 stuffing mushrooms to use up all that stuffing. Because the mushrooms weren't precooked before adding the stuffing, as some of my other stuffed mushrooms recipes call for, the mushrooms released a lot of water during the cooking process. There was a lot of very unappetizing brown liquid sitting at the bottom of the pan once they were done. That liquid also really watered down the flavor of the stuffing. I had tried the stuffing before baking the mushrooms, and I thought it was excellent. After they baked though, the stuffing was quite bland. Maybe prebaking the mushrooms, and possibly adding some breadcrumbs to the stuffing to help absorb more liquid would help, but I don't think I will bother to try these again. There are definitely better stuffed mushroom recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Great! I added some breadcrumbs, minced onion, garlic, and an egg in with the mix and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
YUMMY!!!! I made this stuffing to fill a pack of HUGE portobello mushrooms, the result: Gorgeous looking, mouthwatering, deeeeeelicious entreé !!!! Will definitely be making these again and again! I brushed my mushrooms with oregano olive oil and added some powdered garlic to the cheese mix. Really good! ... next time I will try adding a pack of cream cheese to the mixture to add a bit of creaminess. CAN´T WAIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made these this past weekend and everyone loved them. Took some tips from other reviewers. I made the same amount of filling and stuffed 12 large caps and some vine ripened cherry tomatoes. I did precook the mushrooms first and allowed them to drain before stuffing. Froze the leftovers to stuff chicken later. I reduced the baking time to 12 minutes since the caps were precooked. Served on a bed of parsley and it was pretty.... everyone gobbled them up!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I made this and put them in smaller mushroom caps to use as appetizers. I thought they were very good, however, next time I will use more mozeralla and maybe a little less ricotta (thus the four star instead of five). I didn't feel they were "cheesy" enough for my tastes. I think the pesto was a great addition and made them different - I used homemade pesto that I froze this past summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
These were excellent, but I thought that the recipe made too much filling. Extra filling makes a great dip. I also cut cherry tomatoes into fourths and placed on mushrooms with sprinkled dried parsley before cooking, and they came out great. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My family loved this recipe! I cooked the mushrooms in a skillet in the olive oil first. The cheese stuffing turned out perfectly golden brown. Absolutely delicious if you like pesto. I ran out of mushrooms when stuffing them though. I'd double the amount of mushrooms when buying them at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
They were so awsome! I made them for my sisters bridal shower. They were a huge hit! Highly reccomend these and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFFIPOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I made this recipe as posted, with the exception of adding a little minced garlic to the stuffing mixture & a little wine to the pan I put the mushrooms in. The overwhelming taste of ricotta causes the flavor to be very bland. I even used the "good" parmesan cheese (not the powdered stuff in the green can I give to my kids..) but it didn't help. I'm thinking that maybe subbing cream cheese for the ricotta would help the flavor as well as the texture as ricotta tends to be grainy. Not the worst 'shroom recipe I've treid but I'm still on the hunt for the Holy Grail of stuffed 'shrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Maine, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Not the best stuffed mushroom out there, but this one is definitely healthier than most. Pre-cook the mushrooms for a bit so you don't have so much brown liquid when you're done. Also, make sure to either half the filling recipe or use larger (or more) mushrooms. I found that we liked the smaller mushrooms with less filling vs the larger with more filling. The filling just gets a little overwhelmingly ricotta if you have too much of it in one mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States