Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This dish made our Easter. (18 guests, 2 whole legs) It's outstanding. Prep was substantial since I chopped all of the fresh ingredients myself. Well worth the effort. There wasn't so much as a piece of fat left and I'm talking about young kid's and adults alike. Be careful not to overcook it. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
We loved this recipe. We live in a small country town and there was no lamb or figs near so I had to substitute. I used sliced pork sirloin roast and cherries instead of currants. I doubled the plum filling recipe so that I could have enough to put inbetween every slice. I had no string so I put the stuffed roast inside of a meatloaf pan and covered with foil. It was so good with the pork we can't even imagine how great it would be with lamb. I ordered a lamb online and can't wait to make it again. Hands down we agreed it was the best dish we've had in months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I made this stuffed lamb for Easter dinner. It was fantastic! Easy and delicious! I don't normally enjoy left over lamb but I must say we all thought it tasted even better (if possible!) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Even after missing a few ingredients (corriander and mint) I still made this dish. I substituted canned plums in syrup for the figs and this recipe was just wonderful. The fruit flavors went very well with the lamb - everyone loved it. I recommend only allowing the lamb to reach an internal temp of 150 (about medium well) but it's up to your personal preference. I will definitely make this again. My husband loved it - and never liked lamb prior to this. Thanks for the post. Laura Swink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this yesterday for Easter dinner,and it was outstanding.Everyone raved about it.It was well worth the effort.I thought there may be a little too much going on with the fruit nut and herb combinations but the flavors were really great together.The balsamic fig basil sauce would also be very nice served with grilled lamb chops.I know some of you had mentioned you had a hard time finding the figs or the currants.If you are fortunate enought to live near a Trader Joe's Market I was able to find everything I needed for this recipe there with the exception of the liquor.I would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I did a lot of things different, like wrapped prosciutto around the outside after smearing it with an herbal/ mushroom/garlic/beef demi-glace mash. Stuffed the inside w/ homemade breadcrumb stuffing w/ dried cherries. Served it all for easter cooked med-rare. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delicious and absolutely holiday meal-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Wonderful flavors. Not as big a production as you might think. Don't be put off by the unusual spice combinations - they really are good, especially the basil in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I have died and gone to heaven. This recipe is wonderful. The spices and herbs counter the sweet fruits quite well. I used finely chopped walnuts and cranberries for the stuffing in place of currants and almonds, and left out the mint (out of personal preference.) Changed nothing on the fig sauce! Delightful and a masterpiece. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The directions for making this could be somewhat simplified, but it turned out extremely well. I got rave reviews from my guests and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States