Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
We hosted a New Years dinner for 20 people and made this dish calculated for 14 servings (the serving sizes are generous so you may want to reduce the number by 2 servings). The recipe was easy to make and EVERYONE raved about it including the non-lamb eaters. We are making it again tonight with a pork roast for family members who will not eat lamb. We highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made this for a dinner party on Sunday. It was outstanding! Everyone loved this recipe. I served it will Sunday mashed potatoes, fresh green bean almandine and apricot squash...delish! My only minor complaint was the amount of time it took to get it all together. I'll make this again for someone special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is an amazing recipe. We have made this recipe for our extended family the past two Easters now and it was Terrific both years. It has become a new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was one of the best lamb dishes I've ever had, it was restaurant quality. I was so impressed. I didn't have fresh figs so I used dried and it was still wonderful. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This dish made our Easter. (18 guests, 2 whole legs) It's outstanding. Prep was substantial since I chopped all of the fresh ingredients myself. Well worth the effort. There wasn't so much as a piece of fat left and I'm talking about young kid's and adults alike. Be careful not to overcook it. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
We loved this recipe. We live in a small country town and there was no lamb or figs near so I had to substitute. I used sliced pork sirloin roast and cherries instead of currants. I doubled the plum filling recipe so that I could have enough to put inbetween every slice. I had no string so I put the stuffed roast inside of a meatloaf pan and covered with foil. It was so good with the pork we can't even imagine how great it would be with lamb. I ordered a lamb online and can't wait to make it again. Hands down we agreed it was the best dish we've had in months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I made this stuffed lamb for Easter dinner. It was fantastic! Easy and delicious! I don't normally enjoy left over lamb but I must say we all thought it tasted even better (if possible!) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Even after missing a few ingredients (corriander and mint) I still made this dish. I substituted canned plums in syrup for the figs and this recipe was just wonderful. The fruit flavors went very well with the lamb - everyone loved it. I recommend only allowing the lamb to reach an internal temp of 150 (about medium well) but it's up to your personal preference. I will definitely make this again. My husband loved it - and never liked lamb prior to this. Thanks for the post. Laura Swink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this yesterday for Easter dinner,and it was outstanding.Everyone raved about it.It was well worth the effort.I thought there may be a little too much going on with the fruit nut and herb combinations but the flavors were really great together.The balsamic fig basil sauce would also be very nice served with grilled lamb chops.I know some of you had mentioned you had a hard time finding the figs or the currants.If you are fortunate enought to live near a Trader Joe's Market I was able to find everything I needed for this recipe there with the exception of the liquor.I would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I did a lot of things different, like wrapped prosciutto around the outside after smearing it with an herbal/ mushroom/garlic/beef demi-glace mash. Stuffed the inside w/ homemade breadcrumb stuffing w/ dried cherries. Served it all for easter cooked med-rare. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States