Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Wow. you made me a kitchen hero. Made this for an intimate dinner with friends...excellent, I was amazed by the "clean" dishes, they couldn't get enough. The only thing I did differently, trying to save some time, was use Balsamic Cream, I figured I could "heat and eat" rather than wait for the reduction. It was good, but way to "thick" I think. Great recipe. For side dishes I made some green and white aspargus topped with buttered bread crumbs, parmesan cheese and diced roasted red peppers and some couscous that took the Balsamic fig sauce quite nicely. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Carlone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Loved it. So did everyone at my party. The fig sauce was the best part. They were putting it on my prime rib too. My son added more fig than the recipe called for and I put a dab of creme de cassis in it. I will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
this was good. i don't think for the effort it is worth the taste, but lamb was on sale and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Just wonderful! Our favorite lamb dish yet. I also used dried cranberries instead of currants and sliced almonds instead of salted ones. Prepped with a food processor and it was ready for the oven in just a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Love it! Made it for Easter and was a big hit! Even my picky eater teenage sone love it. He is allergic to nuts so I made a smaller piece for him without the almonds! Takes a long time to prep though! I need a good chopper (lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
If you want to impress, this is the lamb recipe to go for. You need to allow yourself plenty of time to get everything assembled, chopped, diced etc. But once that lamb is roasting in the oven, you will not be sorry you went the extra mile. My family loved this, and my 83 year old father told me it is a meal he will not soon forget. Now that is a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was a very interesting and elegant dish! The herbs really worked well together, but next time I'll use more rosemary. It wasn't quite as flavorful as I had hoped, though. Here are some tips I'll use for next time: Be very careful in the roasting time/temp. I roasted at 400 for the first thirty minutes and then turned it down to 335 for another 1 1/2 hours. My 5 1/2 pound leg was well-done and should have come out thirty minutes sooner. It was not dry, though. If you use dry figs in the sauce as I did, add some water to the vinegar or else it becomes too strong. Don't worry about the basil in the sauce, it works really well and doesn't overwhelm the dish with contrasting flavors. I even suggest using a little more. If you don't want to purchase creme de cassis, another option is to use red current jelly. I used both and added some of the jelly to the fig sauce as well. As other reviewers mentioned, I also used cranberries (dried) in my filling. I think as an alternative to the prunes, dates might taste nice in this. Next time, I may use both! Pistachios would be good in the filling in place of the almonds. This is a fun recipe to get creative with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe is a winner! Made it for Easter and my lamb-hating husband and I both loved it! The key is the wonderful balsamic-fig sauce, which would also be good on duck. Do yourself a favor and buy a rolled boneless leg of lamb in netting. When you unroll it, cut out the major pockets of fat for a more pleasant dining experience. When you roll it back up with the stuffing, get an extra pair of hands to help you put it back into the netting. This works better than tying string, and is much easier. This recipe is very forgiving, as long as you are true to a few key things: a nice piece of lamb, a good quality balsamic, fresh basil (or even homegrown dried), figs (or perhaps fresh or dried cherries). Fresh Calamyrna figs weren't available so I used dried "regular" figs--worked just fine. I didn't have fresh mint, so left it out; didn't miss it (but would use it if I have it next time). I also omitted the almonds because I didn't think they were necessary; they weren't. I ran out of currants, so substituted golden raisins. I could just as easily have used craisins or brown raisins. I didn't have quite enough prunes, so filled in with a little dried apple, cherry and apricot. Couldn't tell the difference. I recommend using creme de cassis, but cherry brandy could substitute in a pinch. I didn't want to process the fresh rosemary, so just laid small sprigs inside the roast--very "organic" looking. (I pulled out the twigs while I was carving). I sprinkled powdered garlic on t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I am not a lamb lover AT ALL! In fact it baa's at me! But I hosted Easter and one of my guests could not eat ham, so I added this to my menu. It was THE hit of my Easter table! All of the adults loved it! I gave out every lick of the leftovers. I omitted the almonds due to allergies. And I could not find fresh figs, so I used dried. I also had a 5 pound leg of lamb. It took about 1 hour and 25 minutes to cook. Some advice - double the sauce! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Divine! I served this for Easter Sunday dinner. I prepared each set of ingredients Saturday and set them aside for easy prep on Sunday. It took some time to chop and measure all the ingredients, but it is worth it!!! My family wanted to rate this as a 10, even though they know the highest rating is 5. I will try this recipe with pork and possibly chicken, since we cannot afford leg of lamb very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States