Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was pretty good. I had a larger group and made a bigger lamb. I found when I went to slice it, it unraveled and the concept of it disappeared. Most probably due to the larger cut of meat. This ended up being a costly dish. After spending the money for a good lamb, I had to buy prunes, currents, nuts, herbs, cassis and figs. There was alot of prep too with the mincing of the herbs. I am not sure I would make it again, but it was tasty once I tried to combine all of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good with lots of great flavors for the holidays! Family loved it that doesn't usually eat lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was one of the best leg of lamb I have ever cooked! I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made some changes to the recipe,substituting what I had on had: replaced the almonds with walnuts, substituted dates for figs, dried herbs for the fresh ones. This recipe is fabulous! I enjoyed the meat without the sauce for a more savory flavor and the sauce added a special sweet-tart addition. A previous poster was correct,cook it to 125-130 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This dish is utterly amazing. This was the first time I've ever tried roasting a leg of lamb. It was better than any lamb that I have had any where else around the globe! My family was dumb struck. I did double the basil, all the herbs, and added some more garlic cloves. I did use dried mission figs, and added extra water just to compensate. Since I didn't have half an inkling where to get the creme de cassis...So I combined currant jelly with cabarnet sauvignon. IT'S A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I am a lamb lover; it's by far my favorite meat, I made this meal for Xmas dinner and I was expecting perfection since the recipe sounded absolutely divine and I spent so much money on the ingredients. It was good--but not nearly as delicious as I was expecting. First, I would suggest you double or triple the herb/spice rub. Because it was NOT CLOSE TO ENOUGH. I really think that if I had done this, it might have been a five star. Double the liqueur amount. I subbed black cherry liqueur because I didn't want to buy a bottle of cassis I would never drink. Lastly, the cooking time is off for this recipe. Lamb just shouldnt be cooked more than medium rare, which means removal from the oven at 125-130 F on the thermometer. Check your old cookbooks ladies and gentlemen-- the ones printed before our nation became fearful -- medium rare is 130-135F, and meat always rises 5F internally after removal from the oven! That means 8-9 minutes per pound for lamb. My 5 lb roast was done in 40 min--so check it early!! Also, because it's butterflied, the ends of the lamb cook to well while the middle is medium rare, so you can even please the philistines who prfer well-done meat with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
wow, best lamb recipe I have ever had! If you want a restaurant quality lamb recipe, this is it ! made it for an impressive xmas dinner. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This lamb turned out great. My husband made it for Christmas Day and everyone really liked it. We usually have lamb for special dinners and use more garlic. This would be the only suggestion I might try in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAHM of 9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimball, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Wow. you made me a kitchen hero. Made this for an intimate dinner with friends...excellent, I was amazed by the "clean" dishes, they couldn't get enough. The only thing I did differently, trying to save some time, was use Balsamic Cream, I figured I could "heat and eat" rather than wait for the reduction. It was good, but way to "thick" I think. Great recipe. For side dishes I made some green and white aspargus topped with buttered bread crumbs, parmesan cheese and diced roasted red peppers and some couscous that took the Balsamic fig sauce quite nicely. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Carlone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Loved it. So did everyone at my party. The fig sauce was the best part. They were putting it on my prime rib too. My son added more fig than the recipe called for and I put a dab of creme de cassis in it. I will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States