Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
LOVE this one! It was a huge hit! Everyone raved about it. I did add a lot more mint & a bit more prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I've been making this recipe for the last 4 years for Easter. This year making in it again. My guests are asking ahead 'will you make the lamb?" they all love it. And we are not usually the lamb eaters!!! My sister went to a restaurant and inspired by this recipe decided to try a lamb dish. She called me to say how disappointed she was with the restaurant prepared lamb - this one is SO MUCH BETTER! It became a legend:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iryna Soluk-Figol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner and everyone loved it! I kept to the recipe pretty closely, although I used my own mince (prunes, raisens, cranberries, currents soaked in rum and brandy)it turned out wonderfully. I used the lamb drippings to add to the fig sauce for added flavour. This main was served with lemon and rosemary risotto and french cut lemon and herb green beans. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I'm about to make this for the 2nd time. I omit the creme de casis and use pecans instead of almonds. Since our house in on a pecan grove we stay pretty loyal to that nut ;p Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
absolutely THE best lamb i have ever tasted or prepared. it was a hit with lamb lovers and non lamb lovers alike. i followed the recipe exactly and it did not let me down! i plan to prepare this again for our easter dinner... thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
did not care for this recipie because i love lamb and i could not taste the lamb at all just all the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Exceptional recipe however a few small changes. I used about half the amount of almonds, crushed them and used smoked salted almonds. Instead of currants which I could not find I used Goldenberries. They can be found in any health food store. Also, the sauce was wayyyyy to sweet. cut the honey out, doubled the recipe and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy E. Boles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Seriously, first time lamb eating adults and children as young as 3 ate and loved this lamb. I made it for Christmas and it was a huge success. I prepped it the day before and reduced the balsamic while the lamb baked. I then finished the sauce after my sides were plated. Also i doubled the sauce and offered the extra on the side. The liquor, which can be mixed with wine to make a kir or champagne to make a kir royal, i tripled since the fresh herbs, prunes and currants, which i doubled, soaked it up fast. The only ingredient i subbed was the figs. I used Turkish dry figs and i used more mint then basil. The sauce was great with the lamb and beef meatballs i made as well. I cooked it to 130 degrees and wrapped it in foil and towels while i finished the rest of the meal so everything went out at the same time. It was cooked perfect. mr in middle and mw on edges. I would like to try and replace the almonds with cashews next time. I'll let you know if it works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I come back to this recipe again and again. It is impressive and the flavors ae complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
As everyone has already posted, this recipe is outstanding! My husband is not a fan of lamb. We had a pork loin handy and omitted the mint because we did not use lamb. I substituted dried cherries and cranberries for the currants because they were in the pantry. This year our fig tree put out a great crop. That was how I came to find this recipe - looking for more fig recipes! The fresh herbs are a must. Easy to put together. 45 min in a 400 degree oven, covered dish. Truly outstanding! Even though we changed the meat choice, I have no doubt the lamb would be great. The flavors in this recipe are top choice and marry well. I give it a five plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States