Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Exceptional recipe however a few small changes. I used about half the amount of almonds, crushed them and used smoked salted almonds. Instead of currants which I could not find I used Goldenberries. They can be found in any health food store. Also, the sauce was wayyyyy to sweet. cut the honey out, doubled the recipe and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wbolesnyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Seriously, first time lamb eating adults and children as young as 3 ate and loved this lamb. I made it for Christmas and it was a huge success. I prepped it the day before and reduced the balsamic while the lamb baked. I then finished the sauce after my sides were plated. Also i doubled the sauce and offered the extra on the side. The liquor, which can be mixed with wine to make a kir or champagne to make a kir royal, i tripled since the fresh herbs, prunes and currants, which i doubled, soaked it up fast. The only ingredient i subbed was the figs. I used Turkish dry figs and i used more mint then basil. The sauce was great with the lamb and beef meatballs i made as well. I cooked it to 130 degrees and wrapped it in foil and towels while i finished the rest of the meal so everything went out at the same time. It was cooked perfect. mr in middle and mw on edges. I would like to try and replace the almonds with cashews next time. I'll let you know if it works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I come back to this recipe again and again. It is impressive and the flavors ae complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
As everyone has already posted, this recipe is outstanding! My husband is not a fan of lamb. We had a pork loin handy and omitted the mint because we did not use lamb. I substituted dried cherries and cranberries for the currants because they were in the pantry. This year our fig tree put out a great crop. That was how I came to find this recipe - looking for more fig recipes! The fresh herbs are a must. Easy to put together. 45 min in a 400 degree oven, covered dish. Truly outstanding! Even though we changed the meat choice, I have no doubt the lamb would be great. The flavors in this recipe are top choice and marry well. I give it a five plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I simplified this recipe and substituted a couple of things I didn't have, but the whole thing turned out beautifully. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Yes yes and yes. Great taste. This will be repeated for some friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
We made this for Easter and it was terrific. Fresh figs were not worth paying 79 cents each so I substituted dried ones. I also used dried apricots instead of prunes. I wouldn't have paired mint and basil, but it works with lamb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this yesterday for Easter and all of my guests loved it! (Even those that don't typically like lamb)... I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the creme de cassis (I completely forgot to pick it up so I just used some red wine which was all I had on hand). For the figs I was not able to find Calimyrna, so I used dried mission figs. I made double the sauce and poured it over the sliced lamb on a serving platter, it presented beautifully. My sister loved the balsamic reduction so much she literally wanted a glass to drink it with! Do use fresh herbs as it makes a tremendous difference in the flavor. An exceptional dish that will become my go-to recipe for lamb for sure! Thanks Barbara E for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Last night was the 3rd time I made lamb using this recipe. Each time I make it is just a little different, depending on the ingredients I have on hand. Each time, however, this recipe for lamb is the absolute BEST! I used only prunes (in the stuffing AND sauce) since I didn't have figs. I doubled the herbs recipe as another reviewer suggested & I used Chambord instead of Cassis since that was what I had on hand. I ALWAYS use fresh herbs because there really is a BIG difference between dried & fresh when it comes to taste. Instead of currants, I used craisins. I also cooked it until the temp read 135 degrees, then let it rest while I cooked the veggies. Everyone took seconds & thirds! Even my picky 13 yr. old said it was good (SCORE!!). You really can't mess up this recipe, folks! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Pollyc84
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very exotic recipes~ it's taste good ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pollyc84

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States