Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was a very interesting and elegant dish! The herbs really worked well together, but next time I'll use more rosemary. It wasn't quite as flavorful as I had hoped, though. Here are some tips I'll use for next time: Be very careful in the roasting time/temp. I roasted at 400 for the first thirty minutes and then turned it down to 335 for another 1 1/2 hours. My 5 1/2 pound leg was well-done and should have come out thirty minutes sooner. It was not dry, though. If you use dry figs in the sauce as I did, add some water to the vinegar or else it becomes too strong. Don't worry about the basil in the sauce, it works really well and doesn't overwhelm the dish with contrasting flavors. I even suggest using a little more. If you don't want to purchase creme de cassis, another option is to use red current jelly. I used both and added some of the jelly to the fig sauce as well. As other reviewers mentioned, I also used cranberries (dried) in my filling. I think as an alternative to the prunes, dates might taste nice in this. Next time, I may use both! Pistachios would be good in the filling in place of the almonds. This is a fun recipe to get creative with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe is a winner! Made it for Easter and my lamb-hating husband and I both loved it! The key is the wonderful balsamic-fig sauce, which would also be good on duck. Do yourself a favor and buy a rolled boneless leg of lamb in netting. When you unroll it, cut out the major pockets of fat for a more pleasant dining experience. When you roll it back up with the stuffing, get an extra pair of hands to help you put it back into the netting. This works better than tying string, and is much easier. This recipe is very forgiving, as long as you are true to a few key things: a nice piece of lamb, a good quality balsamic, fresh basil (or even homegrown dried), figs (or perhaps fresh or dried cherries). Fresh Calamyrna figs weren't available so I used dried "regular" figs--worked just fine. I didn't have fresh mint, so left it out; didn't miss it (but would use it if I have it next time). I also omitted the almonds because I didn't think they were necessary; they weren't. I ran out of currants, so substituted golden raisins. I could just as easily have used craisins or brown raisins. I didn't have quite enough prunes, so filled in with a little dried apple, cherry and apricot. Couldn't tell the difference. I recommend using creme de cassis, but cherry brandy could substitute in a pinch. I didn't want to process the fresh rosemary, so just laid small sprigs inside the roast--very "organic" looking. (I pulled out the twigs while I was carving). I sprinkled powdered garlic on t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I am not a lamb lover AT ALL! In fact it baa's at me! But I hosted Easter and one of my guests could not eat ham, so I added this to my menu. It was THE hit of my Easter table! All of the adults loved it! I gave out every lick of the leftovers. I omitted the almonds due to allergies. And I could not find fresh figs, so I used dried. I also had a 5 pound leg of lamb. It took about 1 hour and 25 minutes to cook. Some advice - double the sauce! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Divine! I served this for Easter Sunday dinner. I prepared each set of ingredients Saturday and set them aside for easy prep on Sunday. It took some time to chop and measure all the ingredients, but it is worth it!!! My family wanted to rate this as a 10, even though they know the highest rating is 5. I will try this recipe with pork and possibly chicken, since we cannot afford leg of lamb very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Made this for Christmas dinner and it came out fantastic! Everyone wanted seconds, even my picky fiance. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I tried this for this last christmas eve party with my family. Even the people who said they hated lamb liked it. I made enough for 22 people that made the prep time alot longer. Finding the currants was also very dificult due to my local. Great recipie and I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
We hosted a New Years dinner for 20 people and made this dish calculated for 14 servings (the serving sizes are generous so you may want to reduce the number by 2 servings). The recipe was easy to make and EVERYONE raved about it including the non-lamb eaters. We are making it again tonight with a pork roast for family members who will not eat lamb. We highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made this for a dinner party on Sunday. It was outstanding! Everyone loved this recipe. I served it will Sunday mashed potatoes, fresh green bean almandine and apricot squash...delish! My only minor complaint was the amount of time it took to get it all together. I'll make this again for someone special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is an amazing recipe. We have made this recipe for our extended family the past two Easters now and it was Terrific both years. It has become a new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was one of the best lamb dishes I've ever had, it was restaurant quality. I was so impressed. I didn't have fresh figs so I used dried and it was still wonderful. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States