Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wonderful and titillating array of tastes! Highly praised by everyone at the dinner party! Will do it again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fede

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Delicious sauce! Instead of using figs and balsamic, I used fig flavored balsamic from whole foods. Also made this with pork instead of lamb. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My extended family DEMAND this recipe for Christmas dinner, since I first made it in 2010. 2010. I've successfully substituted dried cranberries for currants, and dates for the prunes (very tasty). We had no fresh mint, once, and my dried mint just didn't make the grade. Even my wife, who detests lamb, loves this recipe. Get mere stuffing, if the lamb flavor is too strong for your taste; otherwise serve yourself less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Love the sauce. Lamb was a bit undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Ok, it's true. Even if you hate lamb, you'll like or love this recipe. It's labor intensive but absolutely worth the effort. The only mistake I made was not reducing the balsamic vinegar enough before adding the other ingredients. I thought I had ruined dinner. The sauce tasted and smelled waaaay to vinegary. But I added some brown sugar and just kept stirring over medium heat until dissolved and reduced a bit more. Success! The lamb haters went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
LOVE this one! It was a huge hit! Everyone raved about it. I did add a lot more mint & a bit more prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I've been making this recipe for the last 4 years for Easter. This year making in it again. My guests are asking ahead 'will you make the lamb?" they all love it. And we are not usually the lamb eaters!!! My sister went to a restaurant and inspired by this recipe decided to try a lamb dish. She called me to say how disappointed she was with the restaurant prepared lamb - this one is SO MUCH BETTER! It became a legend:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iryna Soluk-Figol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner and everyone loved it! I kept to the recipe pretty closely, although I used my own mince (prunes, raisens, cranberries, currents soaked in rum and brandy)it turned out wonderfully. I used the lamb drippings to add to the fig sauce for added flavour. This main was served with lemon and rosemary risotto and french cut lemon and herb green beans. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I'm about to make this for the 2nd time. I omit the creme de casis and use pecans instead of almonds. Since our house in on a pecan grove we stay pretty loyal to that nut ;p Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States