Stuffed Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Made these for my FIL. Used about 8 garden jalapenos and halved the other ingredients (really just eyeballed the cheese and spice). I had all the ingredients and was looking for a way to use the peppers up plus 1/2 lb. of sausage, so this was perfect. I was also looking for a stuffed jalapeno recipe that didn't use cream cheese and wasn't deep fried, so doubly perfect! The rolling out the sausage was a bit messy, I ended up just pinching off sausage and molding around each pepper. My FIL said it was a 5 star (I asked him to rate 1-5 as I didn't want to eat any, not that fond of stuffed peppers), he really liked the flavor of the sausage/spice combined with the jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Heart attack on a toothpick! I tried to "healthify" this with turkey sausage and made my own seasoned bread crumbs (not Shake'n'Bake--which is full of fat & chemicals). I just don't like handling slimy canned chiles, so I used fresh chiles. I picked serranos because they're consistently spicy and I like the flavor better than jalapenos which are too vegetal for my taste. The chiles steamed inside the sausage which kept them fresh tasting and tender-crisp. Cheese was melty pleasure: Yum! Next time, I'll make the crumbs less spicy, so each layer will be a unique experience on the tongue. I'll make this for one item in an appetizer course--surrounded by healthier selections!--at my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This recipe was good tried it with cream cheese it gave it a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
We liked these a lot. I added a little Panko breadcrumbs to the seasoning mix to give it a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Incredible! After seeding and cutting the jalapenos in half, I baked to reduce the spice. I mixed the sausage into the cheese mixture, formed into jap. shaped "balls," and sprinkled cheddar on top. I made these the day before serving, then threw in the oven to heat up. They were the first appetizer to disappear, and even people who didn't like spice enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
These turned out to be very good. I really liked the spin of using sausage - I used hot turkey sausage and they turned out great. Great pick food, especially for football games! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
GREAT RECIPE IF YOU HAVE THE TIME! I MADE A TEST BATCH 2WKS BEFORE THE PARTY I WAS GOING TO SERVE THEM AT AND THE RECIPE FROZE WELL & TASTED GREAT BUT NOT A GOOD IDEA UNLESS YOU HAVE A LOT OF TIME. THIS RECIPE IS TIME CONSUMING, MESSY, AND GREAT FOR THOSE WHO ENJOY THE SPICE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessxcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have made this recipe for Christmas the last 3 years. My family begs for them! They are a bit time and labor intensive for such a simple recipe, but well worth it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Good, easy, fast. I left the jalapenos with the seeds in since we like spicier foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I saw this recipe and I made it at Thanksgiving. Those of us who like spicy stuff really enjoyed it. Now my sister-in-law is making them for Christmas at her boyfriend's request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States