Stuffed Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I agree that they look unappealing but the taste more than compensates for the look. I followed the recipe almost to a tee, except about rolling out the sausage. I rolled it thin but then I just started piecing it off and wrapped it around the jalapeno as best I could. It is messy but worth it. It had just the right amount of heat and I believe that is because we are supposed to get rid of the "guts" of the jalapeno. I chilled them before I put them in the oven because the heat of my hand seemed to make them mushy. I will make more the next time and freeze some up because my mom and I could not get enough of them. They were still on our minds the next day and we had none to eat. Rookie mistake I will not be repeating. Will try a jalapeno cheese also the next time just to see what that will taste like. Will still make some with the cheese it calls for because that is "gold". If you like a little spicy nuggets give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Tahoka, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I saw this recipe and I made it at Thanksgiving. Those of us who like spicy stuff really enjoyed it. Now my sister-in-law is making them for Christmas at her boyfriend's request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Very Tasty, great Appt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have made this recipe for Christmas the last 3 years. My family begs for them! They are a bit time and labor intensive for such a simple recipe, but well worth it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Made these for my FIL. Used about 8 garden jalapenos and halved the other ingredients (really just eyeballed the cheese and spice). I had all the ingredients and was looking for a way to use the peppers up plus 1/2 lb. of sausage, so this was perfect. I was also looking for a stuffed jalapeno recipe that didn't use cream cheese and wasn't deep fried, so doubly perfect! The rolling out the sausage was a bit messy, I ended up just pinching off sausage and molding around each pepper. My FIL said it was a 5 star (I asked him to rate 1-5 as I didn't want to eat any, not that fond of stuffed peppers), he really liked the flavor of the sausage/spice combined with the jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Easy and tasty...great to take to parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I can't believe how much everyone loved these. I'm the hit of the party. Thanks for keeping up my reputation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Incredible! After seeding and cutting the jalapenos in half, I baked to reduce the spice. I mixed the sausage into the cheese mixture, formed into jap. shaped "balls," and sprinkled cheddar on top. I made these the day before serving, then threw in the oven to heat up. They were the first appetizer to disappear, and even people who didn't like spice enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I always use fresh jalapeno peppers - just make sure to thoroughly seed them. I also use bread crumbs as opposed to the coating mix due to the amount of salt in a Shake N Bake type coating. I use a study cheese as opposed to shredded cheese. It is a favorite in our household - we call them Armadillo Eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These were so yummy! I used fresh jalepenos, next time I will boil them for a few minutes before I cook them so that they will be a little softer and less potent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States