Stuffed Jalapeno Firecrackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I've made these for years. Everytime I make them they are the first app to go. I haven't tried with the cajun seasoning but will next time. One thing to add is finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese stuffed right on top of the cream cheese and before you wrap in the bacon. ALTERNATE COOKING METHOD: Bake at 350 for about 25-30 minutes until the bacon is nearly done then broil them for about 5 minutes to crisp up the bacon. WATCH them when they are broiling so they don't burn. If you just broil them, I find the bacon comes out charred in some places and fatty and limp in others, and you don't have to flip them with this method. Also, cook on a rack with a cookie sheet so they are not sitting in the rendered fat of the bacon.....I've done these 30+ times and expierimented with the cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Fantastic twist to the usual jalapeno popper. After reading reviews I pulled it off like this: Did all the recommended prep plus baked the jalapenos for 15 minutes at 350 to lessen the heat. Let them cool a couple of minutes so I could handle them and filled them with a mixture of 1/2 tub of whipped cream cheese, 1/4 cup or so of cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup parmesean cheese, and 1 teaspoon seasoning (Costco no salt seasoning). Took the 1/2 slice of bacon, wrapped it around and put them cheese side up in the 350 oven. Change it to low broil and kept an eye on them for 5-10 minutes until the cheese started to brown and the bacon was lightly crisped. Heaven, heaven, heaven!!! There was a little crunch in the jalapeno which was nice so you got a couple of good bites without dragging the filling all out. Enough heat in the jalapeno to be flavorful and not burn your tongue off so you can't taste the next one. Delish! Will certainly do this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These are fantastic!! I also added some chopped pineapple and garlic powder to the cream cheese. Everyone loved them! Also added a sprinkle of brown sugar over the bacon for extra yum. Just used plain bacon. Rather than broiling, bake at 350 for 40-45 minutes to take out some of the bite of the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Here in Texas it seems every store has the jalapeno bacon. If you cannot find it at your local grocer you can purchase the bacon online
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made these not too long ago only didn't use jalapeno bacon (I've never seen this) and mixed Harry and David's Pepper and Onion Relish with the cream cheese....The little bit of *sweet* is GREAT with the spice!! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
OK, rule of thumb, the smaller the Jalapeno, the hotter it is. Use gloves to seed the peppers, else you get the oils on your hands and hurt for some time. I cut strips of bacon in half before wrapping. I sprinkled onion and garlic powder and dried cilantro over the cream cheese before wrapping. Did this in a toaster over on broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Super yummy and easy. For a lil' smoked flavor just broil them till bacon is getting cooked n then throw them on the gril for the last 5-8 minutes. It gives them a savory grilled flavor and is especially easy when you are already grilling anyway. Also, they freeze well so you can prepare to thrill guests ahead of time. Just prepare as instructed toothpick n all and freeze them instead of cooking them. Thaw and cook when you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messmaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
My family loves this. I find is faster to just lay and push the bacon into the cream cheese a little to make it stick on top, that way the bacon is crisp all over. A little chopped mango or pineapple in the cream cheese gives it a good twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
These are wonderful! I made a double batch for a party last night and they were a huge hit! I could not find jalapeno bacon so I used pepper bacon instead and I made half of them using pineapple cream cheese. I do recommend using gloves to seed the peppers, however...especially if you are a contact lens wearer! (Ouch!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seawillow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I make these all the time only my recipe doesn't call for cajun seasoning, never thought to try that. I will be though!!! Also I use peppered bacon. Found they turn out the best that way!! If you scoop the seeds out you will find they are less spicy for those who can't do heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareekristin

Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States