Stuffed Jalapeno Firecrackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I like spicy, but I think fresh jalapenos are sometimes a little too spicy. I seeded the jalapenos, which rendered them completely un-spicy. I should have known better. I also had trouble getting the bacon crispy to my liking. I baked at 350 for 20 min. first to crisp up the bacon and to help with the jalapeno heat, which wasn't an issue at all. It was mostly crispy but in some places still fatty and raw-looking. I used a broiler pan so the fat could drip off and it would crisp up better. I thought it wouldn't need turned in that case, but I was wrong. I didn't put on much cajun spice because again, I didn't want it to be too spicy. Next time I will leave some seeds and membranes in, will use larger jalapenos, and will add more cajun spice. I will still bake first, but I will flip them often to get all sides evenly crispy. Overall a good recipe but I was slightly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
love these things! We don't like it as hot so we leave off the cajun seasoning. We also sometimes use the flavored cream cheese. Pineapple is our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were ok but lacked flavor. I feel like the ingredients cancelled each other out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coronagirl0828

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
use chive and onion sour cream.... completely amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Let me just say 'oh yeah'. Seriously. Sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Fantastic twist to the usual jalapeno popper. After reading reviews I pulled it off like this: Did all the recommended prep plus baked the jalapenos for 15 minutes at 350 to lessen the heat. Let them cool a couple of minutes so I could handle them and filled them with a mixture of 1/2 tub of whipped cream cheese, 1/4 cup or so of cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup parmesean cheese, and 1 teaspoon seasoning (Costco no salt seasoning). Took the 1/2 slice of bacon, wrapped it around and put them cheese side up in the 350 oven. Change it to low broil and kept an eye on them for 5-10 minutes until the cheese started to brown and the bacon was lightly crisped. Heaven, heaven, heaven!!! There was a little crunch in the jalapeno which was nice so you got a couple of good bites without dragging the filling all out. Enough heat in the jalapeno to be flavorful and not burn your tongue off so you can't taste the next one. Delish! Will certainly do this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These are excellent. My husband and friends love them. The Cajun seasoning makes them even better than the ones without this seasoning. I made only one change and that is only because I didn't have the jalapeno bacon so I just used regular bacon. Gloves recommended, but if you don't have gloves wash your hands a lot. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My own version of this recipe: stuffed deseeded peppers (use gloves!) with sharp shredded cheedar cheese and canned tuna. You can use salmon instead of tuna also. Everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe, I made these for the first time last week since then I've made them once more. I've tweaked the recipe a bit and added fresh garlice and crab meat and they turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great recipe! It was very easy to prepare. Make sure to use gloves when seeding the jalapenos so the oils don't get on your hands (very painful.. for a long time). I mixed cumin, garlic powder, cilantro and mexican cheese blend with the cream cheese before wrapping it in bacon. I think it didn't need to be broiled for 8 minutes on each side. A couple of the pieces of bacon were almost cooked too much. It was a great appetizer and everyone loved it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States