Stuffed Jalapeno Firecrackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I've made these several times to the specifications in the recipe. YUM! MY only advice would be to wear gloves when handling the raw jalapenos if you have sensitive skin. The fist time I did not wear gloves, and my hands burned for about 12 hours afterward. (Used a rub of damp sugar to alleviate the burn...made my hands soft, too.) Other than that, these are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I've been making these for years , LOVE 'EM ! I like to mix a cup of shredded Cheddar in with the cream cheese. I've also added things like chopped shrimp , mushrooms , clams ect... I've also found it best to freeze these before cooking, this allows the bacon to cook before the cheese mix runs out , Start cooking them face down and then flip when bacon is browned ...addressing the heat issue : save the seeds and membrane when cleaning these ... mix with about a tablespoon of water in a small blender ( I have the bullet ) add about a tablespoon ( adjust to taste )of this VERY HOT mixture to the cheese mixture , this is the best way I've found to control the heat ;) .......... These can be made on the grill too ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have been making these for years now, never put cajun seasoning with them. I usually add a pack of dry Ranch dressing to an 8oz cream cheese, stuff, then wrap 1/2 piece bacon around the jalapeno. They are great, I will have to try them with the cajun seasoning. NOTE: WEAR GLOVES WHEN HANDLING THE JALAPENO!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
great for appetizers and having people over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband has made these in a different version for years. We have a lot of friends that like them but don't like the blast of heat they get so he removes the seeds and membranes at their request before stuffing them. This is easily done with a grapefruit spoon even if you cut them in half. He likes to cut them in half so they will lay flat then put a little precooked sausage (or whatever sounds good to you)in them, a thick slice of Cream Havarti* cheese and top with a half slice of lean bacon. Bake in a 400 degree oven until the bacon is done and serve. You will still have some heat but not a lot and a lot of people will able to eat them that would not the other way. If you want them hotter then don't remove all of the seeds and membrane. He never has any leftovers to bring home! *Havarti cheese melts very well so don't make the slices so big that it melts and runs into the cooking pan. If you crumple some foil and put it in your pan it will hold the peppers so they don't tilt and lose the stuffing. Non-stick foil works great for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were great! I couldnt find jalapeno bacon so I used regular and my family gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
So Good! I brought these to a get together and they were immediately gobbled up!! Was asked to bring them to the next get together again! I doubled the recipe and they were still one of the first apps to go! Even people who don't really like super spicy foods find these to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
super easy! super delicious! super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Amazing and simple! I added some twists on my next attempt: Into the cream cheese I mixed in shredded sharp cheddar cheese (replace ounce for ounce to keep it proportional) and some taco seasoning. I also re-mixed the jalapeno seeds into the cheese mixture. Lastly I used Dave's BBQ chicken seasoning on top to help get a smokier taste to it. Also followed the other recommendation of cooking to 350 to soften up the pepper and then put it to broil to crisp up the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Really good base recipe. I made just a few tweaks - I used maple bacon and mixed a couple tablespoons of brown sugar with an equal amount of barbecue sauce for basting the peppers right near the end of baking. I filled the whole peppers with cream cheese and wrapped with bacon, instead of doing half-peppers. I was worried about the poppers being too hot for a mixed crowd, so I baked them for about a half hour total, instead of broiling, and they came out sweet and mellow and delicious, but I don't know how hot the peppers were to start with. Next time I make them, I think I'll reduce the baking time to keep more of the heat and keep the peppers more crisp. At any rate, these were great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States