Stuffed Jack-O-Lantern Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stepperanddaniel
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Can I rate my own recipe? Well, I'll speak for my family, they give it 5 stars. This is one of our favorite things to make this time of year as well as the rest of the year. It's delicious and I forgot to add that after they're done cooking I like to top them off with Ketchup right before serving. Yum! And they freeze good too if you want to make some ahead of time to stock the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I left out the chili sauce/tomato and added a can of RoTel tomatoes. Used 1 1/2 cups regular cook oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I actually have to say that I did not like this recipe. I am a competent cook and I followed the instructions exactly, except for one thing: I didn't cut out the jackolantern faces. I've made other stuffed bell pepper recipes before and they always turned out fine, so I didn't think that cutting out the faces served any functional purpose, merely decorative. However, in retrospect, I may have been mistaken- this was very, very juicy, and before I served the peppers, I actually grabbed them with tongs and tipped them over to drain out all the excess fluids from the ground beef. That being said, I think if I had cut the faces (or at least cut tiny vents), it may have drained on its own... but either way, that was not my issue with this recipe. I think that, as written, it contains too much mustard! I used exactly the amount specified and it overpowered everything else... it tasted just like mustard ground beef, no other flavors. If I made it again, I would reduce the mustard to 2 tbs, 3 max, and also I would saute the onions with the garlic before adding them... otherwise they are still crunchy and spicy after cooking for an hour. Finally, I think I would nix the bread cubes and add a cup of italian bread crumbs instead, and perhaps some freshly chopped parsley. The recipe was lacking flavor or spice- all it tasted like was mustard. One thing I do have to say though is that the cook time and temperature were spot on- it was perfectly done. Just my input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These turned out SO ADORABLE and the meat was tender and juicy! Instead of 1 small tomato, I drained and added a can of roasted tomatoes, 4 TBS of Worcestershire sauce, and only 1 teaspoon of chili sauce (my little kids don't like food that's too spicy). Next time, I'll try turkey ground meat and a little more chili sauce (2 teaspoons). I definitely recommend this for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Every year we have guests for dinner, then onto trick-or-treating- lots of kids and parents! This is a great festive meal for everyone. A little freshly shredded parm cheese adds something extra. For the parents- these taste really good washed down with wine or beer : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelleywatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
What a fun idea!!! I'm giving this 5 stars because we really enjoyed them and it will be the perfect meal for Halloween (they are so cute - the girls loved them!) but we didn't use the filling called for in the recipe (we don't eat beef). I stuffed orange bell peppers with seasoned black beans & rice layered with grated cheddar cheese. So yummy & festive!!! I wish I would have snapped a photo before we dug in because they were adorable! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDoodle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
These were good...and creative! The bread was a bit soggy - I probably won't add it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Photo by Marsha
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
What a FAB presentation -- my 12 yr old daughter flipped out over this cleaver idea. I substituted rice for the the bread as I always think bread kind of zaps the flavor from meatloaf and other dishes like this, but otherwise it was wonderful. I've never seen my family gobble up stuffed peppers like they did these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
These were wonderful. My family likes spicy food, so I chopped up a fresh jalepeno and tossed it into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cometbubba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These are delicious! I am not a pepper fan, and I loved it! I thought my kids would hate it, but they surprised me and now it is their "all-time favorite meal!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States