Stuffed Jack-O-Lantern Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
stepperanddaniel ... such a great idea! Thank you! I wonder how it would be with shredded chicken or pork instead of beef ... will have to try that next time! I used less mustard because of the other ratings - but I don't think less was necessarily better - just different. The cut out faces made dinner time "fun" for the neighbor kids! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Carving the bell pepper was a creative concept, but the meal itself is horrible. The stuffing was extremely wet and soggy. This recipe was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These are so cute! They tasted yummy, too. I changed the recipe a little. I didn't add the bread, mustard, or tomato. Instead I added uncooked oats, 2 eggs, and some milk along with the other ingredients. I will make these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fezziwig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julie-lmp
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were so cute! I did not like the filling but my 5 year old loved it. He has been begging for stuffed peppers with faces for the past week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie-lmp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
i havent tried this recipe, it looks yummy! I just wanted to say WHAT A GREAT IDEA!!! they look sooo cute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so fun to make and so delicious to eat!! I made them on Halloween night since I stayed at home. What a great idea. I will definitely make these again :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarissaRLB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I actually have to say that I did not like this recipe. I am a competent cook and I followed the instructions exactly, except for one thing: I didn't cut out the jackolantern faces. I've made other stuffed bell pepper recipes before and they always turned out fine, so I didn't think that cutting out the faces served any functional purpose, merely decorative. However, in retrospect, I may have been mistaken- this was very, very juicy, and before I served the peppers, I actually grabbed them with tongs and tipped them over to drain out all the excess fluids from the ground beef. That being said, I think if I had cut the faces (or at least cut tiny vents), it may have drained on its own... but either way, that was not my issue with this recipe. I think that, as written, it contains too much mustard! I used exactly the amount specified and it overpowered everything else... it tasted just like mustard ground beef, no other flavors. If I made it again, I would reduce the mustard to 2 tbs, 3 max, and also I would saute the onions with the garlic before adding them... otherwise they are still crunchy and spicy after cooking for an hour. Finally, I think I would nix the bread cubes and add a cup of italian bread crumbs instead, and perhaps some freshly chopped parsley. The recipe was lacking flavor or spice- all it tasted like was mustard. One thing I do have to say though is that the cook time and temperature were spot on- it was perfectly done. Just my input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great flavor with a little kick! Very cute...everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Tried...needs something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
The peppers looked amazing and were worth the effort. However, we didn't like the stuffing - way too bland. I will make again with a zestier stuffing - more tomatoes, maybe rice and a lot more seasoning. But I like spicer food so this probably would be great for anyone who likes simple flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States