Stuffed Jack-O-Lantern Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great recipe! This turned out exactly as advertised and was fun to make. I used panko(japenese bread crumbs) instead of the bread and used enought so that the recipe resembled the same consistency as meatloaf. Did not saute the onion or bread crumbs, no need. Added dried oregano and a bit of dried basil to give some flavour to the meat mixture before putting into the peppers. Topped off with ketchup before serving. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
The vents, i.e., scary faces are there for a reason other than they are fun to prepare for Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishRunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by IvyMcAllister
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
The concept is great, and they looked adorable! The BF actually suggested I photograph them before we stared eating, so I have uploaded the photo. (I used my usual recipe for the stuffing, so I can't comment on that part.) I also made cornbread as a side dish and served the jack-o-peppers with it cut into squares to look like hay bales. (I top my cornbread with shredded apples and Gruyere cheese, and then pop it under the broiler until the cheese *just* starts to brown.) This is a GREAT Halloween treat. Five-star idea! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I LOVE the idea of the peppers! Bought orange ones and stuffed them with my own recipe. HUGE HUGE hit at my dinner party! Adorable! The leftover one in the fridge stuffed in a baggie is hysterical every time I open the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA
Photo by TALKTOKISHA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very cute recipe. A great family moment carving and stuffing these tasty little darlings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALKTOKISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Oh my, how delicious (and cute!) The only changes I made were using a can of diced tomatoes instead of the small tomato, threw in some instant white rice (I like my stuffed peppers to have rice in them), and used Italian breadcrumbs instead of the cubed bread. I didn't want to cut these guys up, they were (almost) too adorable to eat. Thanks for the great recipe and creative idea, stepperanddaniel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
To whomever thought it was bland, I assure you it isn't! I just made this with my boyfriend, we both enjoyed making this very yummy and cute dish (although I have to admit I was the only one who wanted to carve out the faces!). We followed the recipe but for 3 bell Peppers and we could barely finish one so much it was filling! We found this to be very satisfying and tasted great :) Thank you for this great recipe and cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
so cute but mine wrinkled and aged while cooking--kind of like I did! Very tasty. I used rice instead of bread and tomato sauce as that what was handy. Mine looked much spookier due to my wrinkles--Yours are much more CASPER friendly pepper lanterns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
stepperanddaniel ... such a great idea! Thank you! I wonder how it would be with shredded chicken or pork instead of beef ... will have to try that next time! I used less mustard because of the other ratings - but I don't think less was necessarily better - just different. The cut out faces made dinner time "fun" for the neighbor kids! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Carving the bell pepper was a creative concept, but the meal itself is horrible. The stuffing was extremely wet and soggy. This recipe was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States