Stuffed Jack-O-Lantern Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Oh my, how delicious (and cute!) The only changes I made were using a can of diced tomatoes instead of the small tomato, threw in some instant white rice (I like my stuffed peppers to have rice in them), and used Italian breadcrumbs instead of the cubed bread. I didn't want to cut these guys up, they were (almost) too adorable to eat. Thanks for the great recipe and creative idea, stepperanddaniel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
To whomever thought it was bland, I assure you it isn't! I just made this with my boyfriend, we both enjoyed making this very yummy and cute dish (although I have to admit I was the only one who wanted to carve out the faces!). We followed the recipe but for 3 bell Peppers and we could barely finish one so much it was filling! We found this to be very satisfying and tasted great :) Thank you for this great recipe and cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
so cute but mine wrinkled and aged while cooking--kind of like I did! Very tasty. I used rice instead of bread and tomato sauce as that what was handy. Mine looked much spookier due to my wrinkles--Yours are much more CASPER friendly pepper lanterns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
stepperanddaniel ... such a great idea! Thank you! I wonder how it would be with shredded chicken or pork instead of beef ... will have to try that next time! I used less mustard because of the other ratings - but I don't think less was necessarily better - just different. The cut out faces made dinner time "fun" for the neighbor kids! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Carving the bell pepper was a creative concept, but the meal itself is horrible. The stuffing was extremely wet and soggy. This recipe was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These are so cute! They tasted yummy, too. I changed the recipe a little. I didn't add the bread, mustard, or tomato. Instead I added uncooked oats, 2 eggs, and some milk along with the other ingredients. I will make these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fezziwig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julie-lmp
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were so cute! I did not like the filling but my 5 year old loved it. He has been begging for stuffed peppers with faces for the past week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie-lmp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
i havent tried this recipe, it looks yummy! I just wanted to say WHAT A GREAT IDEA!!! they look sooo cute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so fun to make and so delicious to eat!! I made them on Halloween night since I stayed at home. What a great idea. I will definitely make these again :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarissaRLB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I actually have to say that I did not like this recipe. I am a competent cook and I followed the instructions exactly, except for one thing: I didn't cut out the jackolantern faces. I've made other stuffed bell pepper recipes before and they always turned out fine, so I didn't think that cutting out the faces served any functional purpose, merely decorative. However, in retrospect, I may have been mistaken- this was very, very juicy, and before I served the peppers, I actually grabbed them with tongs and tipped them over to drain out all the excess fluids from the ground beef. That being said, I think if I had cut the faces (or at least cut tiny vents), it may have drained on its own... but either way, that was not my issue with this recipe. I think that, as written, it contains too much mustard! I used exactly the amount specified and it overpowered everything else... it tasted just like mustard ground beef, no other flavors. If I made it again, I would reduce the mustard to 2 tbs, 3 max, and also I would saute the onions with the garlic before adding them... otherwise they are still crunchy and spicy after cooking for an hour. Finally, I think I would nix the bread cubes and add a cup of italian bread crumbs instead, and perhaps some freshly chopped parsley. The recipe was lacking flavor or spice- all it tasted like was mustard. One thing I do have to say though is that the cook time and temperature were spot on- it was perfectly done. Just my input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States