Stuffed Jack-O-Lantern Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was very good. Like other reviewers, I used brown rice instead of bread, but I don't think that would change the flavour, which was delicious. Making those few wee slices into the peppers to turn them into jack-o-lanterns took no time and made my husband laugh, so it's all good! I give it a 4 instead of 5 just because of the bread-rice substitution. I thought bread would make it taste like stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Very good, family loved it :) I did not make jack-o-lanterns though. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I absolutely loved the jack o lantern look to the bell peppers! it was very festive and fun! I followed the recipe but I doubled it. I did however change a few things... instead of breadcrumbs I use rice 4 cups for doubled recipe. I, also didn't use the chili sauce I just substituted tomato sauce instead. to replace the chili paste I used the spice cumin! It was a great hit for Halloween weekend! I cooked everything together on the stove first but before stuffing the mixture into the peppers I added the eggs so it would stick together better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Awesome idea and flavor. Can use other meats as well. Italian sausage was really good. Instead of cubed bread, I used plain stuffing and it cooked up nicely. Thanks for the novel presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I made these for dinner the day before Halloween and they were a big hit! My grandson loved the Jack-O-Lanterns! I spiced up the filling by using my homemade spaghetti sauce, and also used brown rice. They turned out really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
My family adored these! My husband is not usually too keen on bell peppers but I used the orange ones and they were really sweet and full of flavor. I showed the picture of the ones I made at work and they want them for Thanksgiving. Now I'll have to figure out how to make them into turkeys!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
amazingly cute and delicious! Everyone loved them and they were not difficult to make at all. I used a pumpkin carving tool to make the faces. I didn't use a tomato but 1/2 diced roasted tomatoes, and only used 1/4 cup chili sauce and added 1/4 cup ketchup. I used ground turkey (20 oz) and had enough filling for 8 peppers and still have some left over. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is delicious and should not be saved for just Halloween. The peppers don't have to be Jack O Lanterns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barkhamsted, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Loved the idea of the jack 'o peppers - it was a huge hit with my family! I think this is our new Halloween night dish. :-) I didn't make the stuffing exactly as written, as I didn't have the chili sauce on hand and decided to go with more Italian flavors - Italian seasoned bread crumbs, a drained can of diced tomatoes, some red pepper flakes for spice, a little parm. cheese. We added ketchup after cutting them up. The peppers I had on hand weren't too good at standing on their own (wrong shape for that), so I made little stands for them out of tin foil to prop them up - worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I loved it and so did my boyfriend! They are so cute!! Taste great :) And healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Mantesso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States