Stuffed Jack-O-Lantern Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
My family adored these! My husband is not usually too keen on bell peppers but I used the orange ones and they were really sweet and full of flavor. I showed the picture of the ones I made at work and they want them for Thanksgiving. Now I'll have to figure out how to make them into turkeys!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
amazingly cute and delicious! Everyone loved them and they were not difficult to make at all. I used a pumpkin carving tool to make the faces. I didn't use a tomato but 1/2 diced roasted tomatoes, and only used 1/4 cup chili sauce and added 1/4 cup ketchup. I used ground turkey (20 oz) and had enough filling for 8 peppers and still have some left over. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is delicious and should not be saved for just Halloween. The peppers don't have to be Jack O Lanterns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barkhamsted, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Loved the idea of the jack 'o peppers - it was a huge hit with my family! I think this is our new Halloween night dish. :-) I didn't make the stuffing exactly as written, as I didn't have the chili sauce on hand and decided to go with more Italian flavors - Italian seasoned bread crumbs, a drained can of diced tomatoes, some red pepper flakes for spice, a little parm. cheese. We added ketchup after cutting them up. The peppers I had on hand weren't too good at standing on their own (wrong shape for that), so I made little stands for them out of tin foil to prop them up - worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I loved it and so did my boyfriend! They are so cute!! Taste great :) And healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Mantesso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great recipe! This turned out exactly as advertised and was fun to make. I used panko(japenese bread crumbs) instead of the bread and used enought so that the recipe resembled the same consistency as meatloaf. Did not saute the onion or bread crumbs, no need. Added dried oregano and a bit of dried basil to give some flavour to the meat mixture before putting into the peppers. Topped off with ketchup before serving. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
The vents, i.e., scary faces are there for a reason other than they are fun to prepare for Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishRunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by IvyMcAllister
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
The concept is great, and they looked adorable! The BF actually suggested I photograph them before we stared eating, so I have uploaded the photo. (I used my usual recipe for the stuffing, so I can't comment on that part.) I also made cornbread as a side dish and served the jack-o-peppers with it cut into squares to look like hay bales. (I top my cornbread with shredded apples and Gruyere cheese, and then pop it under the broiler until the cheese *just* starts to brown.) This is a GREAT Halloween treat. Five-star idea! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I LOVE the idea of the peppers! Bought orange ones and stuffed them with my own recipe. HUGE HUGE hit at my dinner party! Adorable! The leftover one in the fridge stuffed in a baggie is hysterical every time I open the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA
Photo by TALKTOKISHA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very cute recipe. A great family moment carving and stuffing these tasty little darlings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALKTOKISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States