Stuffed Jack-O-Lantern Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Im reviewing this recipe based on the actual recipe. I did not change a thing. If you like mustard, than this is for you. I made this for my family, and all 6 of us thought it was waaay too tangy and we couldn't taste anything else but mustard. If I were to ever make this again, Id have to literally just put a teaspoon of mustard in it, and add rice, like I read other people did. As written, this recipe was also very "juicy". Also another reason to add the rice. I was surprised at the dissapointment of this recipie, given the high ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
It's always great when you find a recipe that is delicious, adorable, and filling. As is this recipe is great, though I can see using rotel instead of a small tomato being delicious also. This recipe was fairly easy to prepare and the presentation was perfect. Also, these little guys are FILLING. I was concerned that I'd need to make a side salad or something else, but I think just by themselves they are a great meal. Of course, if you have a family full of teenage boys you may need more, but otherwise my husband and I were set for 3 meals with these peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Really good. But i had 8 bell peppers and i still had meat left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
although I made my own stuffing, this really was a hit on Halloween. Our guests loved the look and the taste. I will highly recommend this for fun and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made these for Halloween dinner last year. The kids LOVED these! It tasted a little like meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These were OK as a base recipe, and great with my modifications. I didn't have chili sauce, so instead I used about 1/2-1 tsp each of chili powder, cayenne pepper, and cumin. I omitted the bread and added about half a cup of pre-cooked white rice to the stuffing, and included a layer of grated cheddar cheese inside the peppers. I cooked the peppers as directed, except at 45 minutes I drizzled half a jar of tomato sauce over the top (although this does cover up the cute faces somewhat). I served with heated tomato sauce and extra cheddar cheese on Halloween and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very Cute Presentation; stuffing disappointing - forget the bread (sub w/yellow or brown rice maybe), add some real veggies, and zip up with some speecy-spicy-spoosy (Ro'Tel tomatoes, salsa, corn, etc). As is, tastes and looks like pepper-shaped meat loaf. Will try again next year with changes. Used green, yellow, red & orange peppers - What a grand idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was very good. Like other reviewers, I used brown rice instead of bread, but I don't think that would change the flavour, which was delicious. Making those few wee slices into the peppers to turn them into jack-o-lanterns took no time and made my husband laugh, so it's all good! I give it a 4 instead of 5 just because of the bread-rice substitution. I thought bread would make it taste like stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Very good, family loved it :) I did not make jack-o-lanterns though. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I absolutely loved the jack o lantern look to the bell peppers! it was very festive and fun! I followed the recipe but I doubled it. I did however change a few things... instead of breadcrumbs I use rice 4 cups for doubled recipe. I, also didn't use the chili sauce I just substituted tomato sauce instead. to replace the chili paste I used the spice cumin! It was a great hit for Halloween weekend! I cooked everything together on the stove first but before stuffing the mixture into the peppers I added the eggs so it would stick together better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States