Stuffed Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Pretty good, but I just had really small pieces. They had a hard time stayin gtogether, but I would definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I used tilapia instead of halibut. For the stuffing I used shrimps and scallops. I also added a bit of breadcrumbs for texture. I was afraid the melted cream cheese would be too sloppy, so the breadcrumbs helped make it thicker. I forgot the lemon. The results were good, but the fish really needs a bit of flavor. I added parsley and paprika, but that doesn`t add much flavor. Fiance liked it and said it was different, because he has never has cream cheese in a dish before. I`d make this again, but need to alter the recipe. Perhaps a more flavorful fish would have helped...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This is a good recipe, I used salmon instead of halibut and it was just as good. It's surprisingly easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very good and easy. This was my first time cooking fish so I was nervous. I seasoned and stuffed the fish the night before and put it in the fridge, then I baked it the next night. I added butter to the stuffing. I put the cream cheese mixture inside and on top of the fish. Halibut was not available so I used Mahi Mahi. Everyone that ate it raved about it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. It was so easy to do and looked pretty next to my sauteed spinach! I didn't have any basil or lemons on hand, so I mixed Italian seasonings in the stuffing, placed any remaining stuffing on top of the fish, and sprinkled it with lemon pepper before baking it. I softened the cream cheese in the microwave for a minute before mixing in the other ingredients and and no problems with the shrimp breaking. Next time I may add a little chopped spinach inside the stuffing. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This recipe was good but I found the cream cheese didn't get very hot in the short cooking time which made it less appealing. I'll probably try it again but put the cream cheese mixture on the top of fish filet so I can broil it if needed. My husband also suggested cooking it in tinfoil packet? I also added garlic for additional flavoring which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
The filling for this was very tasty but the fish itself was kind of bland. I want to try it with crabmeat instead of shrimp, and season up the fish a bit. It is very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was so simple and great tasting. I used it on top of cod..great! It would also taste terrific as a spread on crackers, minus the fish of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
There is no mistaking that you are pretty much eating warm cream cheese on top of an expensive piece of fish. Yuck. The filling seems like it would be more fitting as a cracker or bagel topping. All of my family ended up scraping the filling off and just eating the fish. Will definitely not be making this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Really good flavor, surprisingly easy! we served it with the Parmesan-Black Pepper Arborio Rice Pilaf. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States