Stuffed Guinea Squash (Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
We really enjoyed this rec. I baked eggplant skin by itself about 7-10 min, then filled with mushroom mixture and baked for 15 min, then added cheese on top and cooked another 10 min. Next time Im going to add some seasonings/spices to mushroom mixture. Overall very good. I agree with other reviewer who said that if you like stuffing you will like this rec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was a tasty, easy and simple recipe for eggplant. I followed the recipe as directed, using maybe slightly less cheese than called for and italian breadcrumbs rather than plain, and adding salt and pepper. I would agree with a previous comment that suggestes to start baking the eggplant skin while chopping and cooking the other vegetables. The skin came out a bit tough for us, though not inedible. Cooking the skin a bit longer before stuffing should solve this. I'd also add the cheese topping about ten minures into baking the stuffed eggplant, to make it melty and gooey rather than hard. This was the first time I've ever cooked an eggplant dish and I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Made this last night and we LOVED it. I altered it a bit, so I can only give 4 stars. I added 1 T each parsley and lemon juice, reduced the bread crumbs and added half a chopped bell pepper. I pre-baked the eggplant shells 10 minutes. I covered the stuffed eggplant with foil for the first part of the baking and did not add the cheese on top until the last 10 minutes, baking uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe and would make it again. I added one red pepper to the mixture and had a little of it left over for a sandwich the next day. Next time I would really try to scrape the eggplant flesh out as close to the peel as possible b/c it didn't cook it all the through for me. Another thing you could probably do would be to cook the eggplant skin in the oven will everything else is getting chopped and cooked. Although I wan't able to eat the skin it was good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Fantastic! I made just a couple of modifications to the original recipe: As per other suggestions, I pre-baked the eggplant shells, added two cloves of garlic to the sauteed veg, only used about a 1/3 cup of Italian breadcrumbs and added a 1/4 cup parmesan and 1/4 cup shredded cheese in the mixture for a delicious consistency - topped with a bit more shredded cheese in the last 10 minutes of baking and it was absolutely delicious - the garlic and parmesan made this dish reminiscent of an easy eggplant parmesan-type recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is right up my alley. I'll have to share it with my vegetarian friend. I used 1/2 c cheese in the mixture and sprinkled 1/2 c on top and found that was plenty for my taste. I made the mistake of using loive oil to fry the veggies and the eggplant sucked it all up along with the oil taste so next time I will use butter like it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was very good. I used a smaller eggplant and halved the ingredients. If you like stuffing you will love this recipe. The only thing I would do a little different is to add the cheese on top during the last 10 minutes. It was a little too cooked for my taste, but this is certainly a great recipe. I made a meal out of it and was quite full. Thank you for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
If I followed recipe as directed, it would be BLAND!! First I salted the egg plant while preparing the stuffing. Than i bake the egg plant for 15 min, I find the shell is less chewy & not bitter when doing this.To stuffing mixture. I add portobello Mush& Green pepper & shred carrots. For seasoning I add fresh basil & oregano, crushed S/P, 1 more clove of garlic.I disregard the bread crumbs & and + crushed seasoned croutons. as well at the end I add Parmesan cheese & Havarti cheese. WITH MY ALTERATION IT WAS A FIVE STAR. but if the original recipe is only a 2 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was pretty good - even the picky eater in the house thought it was OK. Would be a good main dish if you added some sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was very good. I cut the eggplant in half and layed the 2 halves cut side down on a plate, covered with a paper towel and microwaved for 5 minutes. The center scooped out nicely and the shell was partially cooked. I stuffed mine with onion,garlic,mushrooms,roma tomates,a handful of leftover spinach,the eggplant pulp,breadcrumbs, and fresh grated parm cheese. I sauteed all of these together in 1tblspn. of evoo. Stuffed the boats and covered with more grated parm. and drizzled with a little more evoo. Oh, I forgot to mention the fresh basil I added. Fresh and so healthy. Will make again, there are so many variations for this tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States