Stuffed Guinea Squash (Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was very good. I used a smaller eggplant and halved the ingredients. If you like stuffing you will love this recipe. The only thing I would do a little different is to add the cheese on top during the last 10 minutes. It was a little too cooked for my taste, but this is certainly a great recipe. I made a meal out of it and was quite full. Thank you for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe and would make it again. I added one red pepper to the mixture and had a little of it left over for a sandwich the next day. Next time I would really try to scrape the eggplant flesh out as close to the peel as possible b/c it didn't cook it all the through for me. Another thing you could probably do would be to cook the eggplant skin in the oven will everything else is getting chopped and cooked. Although I wan't able to eat the skin it was good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Fantastic! Quick and easy to make. Very delicious. A great way to start using my first crop of eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very creative way to prepare eggplant. We loved this recipe and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is right up my alley. I'll have to share it with my vegetarian friend. I used 1/2 c cheese in the mixture and sprinkled 1/2 c on top and found that was plenty for my taste. I made the mistake of using loive oil to fry the veggies and the eggplant sucked it all up along with the oil taste so next time I will use butter like it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This was really really good. I didn't have much cheese so I used very little and didn't have much on top but that didn't matter. It was still great. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was a tasty, easy and simple recipe for eggplant. I followed the recipe as directed, using maybe slightly less cheese than called for and italian breadcrumbs rather than plain, and adding salt and pepper. I would agree with a previous comment that suggestes to start baking the eggplant skin while chopping and cooking the other vegetables. The skin came out a bit tough for us, though not inedible. Cooking the skin a bit longer before stuffing should solve this. I'd also add the cheese topping about ten minures into baking the stuffed eggplant, to make it melty and gooey rather than hard. This was the first time I've ever cooked an eggplant dish and I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
We really enjoyed this rec. I baked eggplant skin by itself about 7-10 min, then filled with mushroom mixture and baked for 15 min, then added cheese on top and cooked another 10 min. Next time Im going to add some seasonings/spices to mushroom mixture. Overall very good. I agree with other reviewer who said that if you like stuffing you will like this rec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Excellent. I have made this multiple times and my husband and I can't get enough. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Eastin Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States