Stuffed Guinea Squash (Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was a very good vegetarian meal--very filling and tasty. I can't give it 5 stars because the skin of the eggplant was an issue for us. I tried to bake it on a bed of spaghetti sauce, and that did make it more tender and easier to eat. I have a suspician that adding some curry and/or chili powder (i.e., some Southwestern flavoring) might be a really good spin on it. Also, some sausage could be great, especially if it was a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I looked at this recipe for ideas but modified it considerably since it was *very* high in fat... I used whole wheat breadcrumbs 1 cup of low fat cheese (instead of two cups cheddar cheese 3 tablespoons rice bran oil (no butter) 1/4 cup of skim (trim) milk I also added 2 chopped zucchini and 1 cup of chopped cabbage to the mix in the pan. Add the milk just before the cheese (after the bread crumbs) to help bind it all together and then put into egglplant skins as directed. I sprinkled a little bit of grated edam over the top (literally a tablespoon on each side) and it was divine. I served it with saute chicken breast with broccoli and sweet soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was an excellent meal and deserves 5 stars but I messed up and I added other ingredients. I forgot to add the breadcrumbs so I did it when I added the cheddar cheese to brown at the end of cooking. I also added parmesan cheese. I did not have any mushrooms so I used tomato. It was delish! My veggie husband was pleased. Looked good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiswifebakes
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was a very good recipe. I'm always looking for new things to do with eggplant. I did, however, make a few changes: I peeled the eggplant and breaded it by dipping it in egg and rolling it in Italian Bread Crumbs. Then, I placed it on a cookie sheet and broiled it for approximately ten minutes (until the bread crumbs turned brown). Next, I stuffed and baked them according to the recipe. A great side is dirty rice with a spinach salad. It turned out very well, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This recipe took awhile to prep, but it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was pretty good - even the picky eater in the house thought it was OK. Would be a good main dish if you added some sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Made this last night and we LOVED it. I altered it a bit, so I can only give 4 stars. I added 1 T each parsley and lemon juice, reduced the bread crumbs and added half a chopped bell pepper. I pre-baked the eggplant shells 10 minutes. I covered the stuffed eggplant with foil for the first part of the baking and did not add the cheese on top until the last 10 minutes, baking uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My family LOVED this recipe. Its really fast and easy. But do follow the advice to bake the eggplant hulls for about 10 mins before stuffing them and baking it again. I added garlic powder, diced fresh mushrooms,diced green bell peppers and diced onions. It was amazing!!! Thanks so much for this awesome new way to cook eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This recipe is worth ALL 5 stars! I was pleasantly surprised. I though how great could this be...not really any spices, etc. I added Italian style breadcrumbs, a bit of oregano and salt & pepper (cound't help it...had to spice it.) I also took the other reviewers advice & precooked the eggplant shells, & added cooked crumbled chicken sausage. We will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was sooo good! I halved and microwaved the eggplant for a few minutes. Sautéed onion, eggplant, & garlic in olive oil. Added a bit of tomato sauce, seasoned with garlic salt & basil. I did not add any bread crumbs or Cheddar cheese, but instead added Parmesan cheese to taste which gave the desired consistency. It was delicious, thanks for sharing such a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jl1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States