Stuffed Guinea Squash (Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Fantastic! I made just a couple of modifications to the original recipe: As per other suggestions, I pre-baked the eggplant shells, added two cloves of garlic to the sauteed veg, only used about a 1/3 cup of Italian breadcrumbs and added a 1/4 cup parmesan and 1/4 cup shredded cheese in the mixture for a delicious consistency - topped with a bit more shredded cheese in the last 10 minutes of baking and it was absolutely delicious - the garlic and parmesan made this dish reminiscent of an easy eggplant parmesan-type recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I have been making this dish at least 30+ years! I add grated garlic to the receipe, for a little extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
If I followed recipe as directed, it would be BLAND!! First I salted the egg plant while preparing the stuffing. Than i bake the egg plant for 15 min, I find the shell is less chewy & not bitter when doing this.To stuffing mixture. I add portobello Mush& Green pepper & shred carrots. For seasoning I add fresh basil & oregano, crushed S/P, 1 more clove of garlic.I disregard the bread crumbs & and + crushed seasoned croutons. as well at the end I add Parmesan cheese & Havarti cheese. WITH MY ALTERATION IT WAS A FIVE STAR. but if the original recipe is only a 2 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
We grew some lady finger eggplants and didn't know what to do with them. Tried this recipe - it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and thought that this was only so-so. It was missing something; it was bland. I agree with previous reviews that it did remind me of stuffing on Thanksgiving, but still, it was too bland. What I would recommend is that you mix in some cooked sausage with the "stuffing", replace the cheddar with a more flavorful cheese like pepperjack or something, and add more herbs, like fresh basil or rosemary. Regular mushrooms in this recipe didn't shine through. Perhaps using a more flavorful mushroom, like Baby Bellas, would help. Also, you need to precook the eggplant "shell" before stuffing it. When I followed the recipe exactly, the shell was only half-cooked. So, I'd say throw the shell in the oven for fifteen minutes, take it out, stuff it, then another fifteen minutes in the oven. I might use this recipe again as a base for a greater dish, but was not impressed with it as it stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I've made this recipe before, and it is always delicious. The texture is a little strange, though. It's mushy, and it's not something I would serve guests because of that. Also, scooping out the eggplant is time intensive. When I've made the recipe, I have reduced the bread crumbs and cheese, and substituted olive oil for the butter (to make it a little healthier). Today, I altered the recipe even more to make it easier - first I chopped the eggplant into cubes and sauteed it with the onions. Then I added the mushrooms and some sausage. When those were ready, I added the bread crumbs and cheese and then baked for 15 minutes (adding more cheese during the last 5 minutes). The sausage was an amazing addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a delicious surprise. I don't cook often or well, but I was given an eggplant and I had all the ingredients on hand. I left out the mushrooms and I did bake the skin before filling it (per others suggestions) and it was wonderful!! Easy and very delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I don't like eggplant but I made this dish for my husband. He said it was one of the best eggplant dishes that he ever ate. I have actually never made anything with eggplant in it before and I picked out all the seeds. Apparently that wasn't necessary. Live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. My husband gave it a "4.75". He's very punctual like that. I'd give it a 4 b/c it was good, just not the best. It's very filling. I could only eat half of a half. I added a minced garlic clove, some oregano, salt and pepper and cooked the shell longer, as recommended by others. Next time, I will put more garlic, and I'll put the cheese on top in the last 6/7 minutes of baking. Even ten minutes was too much in my oven... and btw, it's such a pain to scoop out the eggplant in the beginning. Blah... scooping and chopping took me like thirty minutes (but i'm a beginner).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Quite a treat! Made this last night and the hubby was very impressed (as was I). Cooked the skin longer as recommended by other reviewers, added some yellow pepper and squash to the mixture and put the cheese on top in the last 10 minutes. Next time will use half the butter though, 3-4 spoons would've been plenty for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States