Stuffed Guinea Squash (Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Loved this! So nice to have an eggplant dish that's not Italian for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was delicious, and like others said, really did remind me of stuffing. I didn't quite use all of the bread crumbs, and I used less cheese as well just to cut back a few calories. But it was still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I was surprised how much this tasted like the turkey stuffing I eat on Thanksgiving! I used this recipe as a guide, but I made quite a few changes. I baked the eggplant shells while I was cooking the filling. I used oil instead of butter, I added spices (garlic, lemon pepper, parsley, seasoned salt), I used fewer mushrooms and added a bit of orange bell pepper. I also left the cheese out of the main part of the stuffing and just sprinkled some on top about 5 minutes before I removed the stuffed eggplant from the oven. I liked this, but I think I'll experiment with it some more to see if I can make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I saw this recipe and wondered how it would work with zucchini (they're coming out of my armpits). At any rate, I followed the directions, as printed, and I'm here to tell you it was absolutely delicious. I did use Cabot's Seriously Sharp cheese to give it a little extra kick. So, if you have a lot of zucchini in your garden to get rid of, this is a great dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Delicious! I used Japanese eggplant and cut back some on the cheese. Great flavor...thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a great, easy, healthy dish. We added Kale for a little saltiness and red pepper for a little sweetness, garlic, some classic warm spices (coriander, cumin, paprika, curry powder, dash of nutmeg) and used enoki and shiitake mushrooms satueed in olive oil. We used the suggestion and once the eggplant was pitted out, i made shallow slices in the remaining flesh, lightly brushed with olive oil, and threw it in the oven while the rest of the vegetables cooked. We substituted Wheat Germ for the bread crumbs and with the added spices, we cut the cheese in half and didnt miss a thing. Definite addition into the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I read all of the suggestions and added garlic, 1/2 orange pepper, 2 cloves garlic, added garlic salt, oregano, basil and used 1/2 fat free garlic and onion croutons and 1/2 plain bread crumbs. I baked the skins for about 15+ minutes and then stuffed w/mixture. The entire dish was delish! The skins were fantastic cooked but having also soaked up the juice/butter gave them an excellent flavor. I also agree w/the reviewer who said sausage would be good in them or Morningstar meat substitute. But I'm happy with it just like it is too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Simple, easy and tadty. Eggplant is one of my favorite vegetables and always looking for new ways to prepare. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great easy recipe. I followed everyones reviews and added garlic, prebaked the eggplant shells 10 minutes after sprinkling with salt. I also added parsley like someone else suggested. I will definetly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Okay, but there was way too much cheese. I think we like the roasted eggplant by itself better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States