Stuffed Guinea Squash (Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The BEST eggplant recipe ever. My husband loves eggplant, I generally think it's just OK, but I really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time last night...it was very good, but also very rich in taste. I served it as a main dish with a salad and between the two of us we were almost able to finish one of the halves. Still have another half left over in the fridge. If I make again I would prob. cut down on the butter and also use a smidge less cheese - I don't think an entire cup needs to be used on top. I also used 1/2 the amount of breadcrumbs and the other 1/2 ritz crackers finely processed. Overall, It was a nice alternative to the abundance of eggplant I get in the summer so I recommend giving it a try. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
really good, did not add bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this according to recipe. I love eggplant, but the bread crumbs in this are just too overpowering, they absorb too much of the flavor. I would remove them completely, replace with diced tomatoes or rice, or both. This was just not a tasty recipe at all. Maybe it just didn't appease my palate and would be good for others...just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. I ended up adding green peppers into the stuffing and it was really good. I would recommend cooking the eggplant a little longer than it says, just because it was still a little difficult to cut into. Overall was a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is a really excellent recipe that tastes good and also looks very apetizing. I didn't use mushrooms, but added red peppers. I would maybe add a bit less bread crumbs next time. I will make this again. I also followed some advice from other reviewers and put the hollowed out shell in the oven for about 15 minutes while I was frying the eggplant to make sure it was softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Delicious! I added a sprinkle of garlic powder and a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was very good. Based on others' suggestions, I baked the eggplant skins while the eggplant and mushroom mixture was cooking on the stove. I left out the onion because my husband doesn't eat it, but I added in some minced garlic and about 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I used eggplant from out neighbor's garden and I used 2 tbsps of olive oil and 2 tbsps of butter. but otherwise followed recipes as written. Really good. Great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was delicious. I followed some of the other comments and baked the eggplant shells. I sprayed some vegetable oil on the cut side of the shells in order to keep them from drying out. I alsoI lowered the temperature of the oven to 350F and baked the shells for about 20 minutes. They were done if I could cut them with a fork. I added 1 green pepper to the stuffing mixture and reduced the amount of bread crumbs to about 1/3 C. I baked the stuffed eggplants in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States