Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I made a LOW CALORIE VERSION of this yummy recipe. First of all, I use just a small amount of brown rice. The vegetables have such a fanstastic flavor - the rice is just there to make it more filling, but it is also highly caloric (and has little nutritional value). I used about 1/2 a slice of fat-free swiss in each pepper (waaay less than the recipe calls for), threw in a layer of raw mushrooms and onions (they cook themselves nicely in the juices), and topped the peppers with a few tablespoons of crushed tomatoes (healthier AND it lends a simple, delicious tomato flavor) and a tablespoon of fat-free sour cream to each. For us calorie-counters, this is a genius meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Reichenbach

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I like regualr stuffed green peppers, but these blow the meat-filled ones away! I did some modifying though...I used black beans with chili and cumin spices in it, Hunts tomato sauce with basil, oregano, & garlic, and instant brown rice to save time. I also used only 1 slice of cheese (halved for layering) per pepper to cut calories. It turned out wonderful. A dallop of sour cream on top before serving enhanced the flavor even more. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
My family and I loooove this recipe and have made it many times! We make a few changes (like others have suggested): brown rice instead of white, usually we omit the swiss, and using the crushed tomato (as in another reviewer's comments) really adds the extra flavor needed. I, like the recipe poster, ate this meal with meat as a child, but we're close to vegetarians now. Thanks for this delicious version of a classic! It's highly recommended! Helpful hint: I insert 3 toothpicks into each pepper so they don't fall over while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This recipe is best saved for a time when you have leftover rice - that cuts cooking time in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Pretty dang good! I added a healthy dose of cumin and a chopped tomato to add some bulk. I mixed the rice, beans, tomato, and tomato sauce all together and spooned that into the peppers. Added a layer of shredded mixed cheeses, more rice mixture, then topped w/ more cheese. Even my fiancee, who swears meat should be in every meal, loved this. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
I was doing a large party where there were a few individuals that were vegetarians. This dish was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great alternative to using meat. I browned some chopped onion and minced garlic first, then mixed in the chili powder and added a little cumin. Next added the beans and cooked rice (brown rather than white). I mixed in half the tomato sauce before stuffing the peppers, and topped the peppers with some shredded cheddar cheese and the rest of the tomato sauce. They came out moist and delicious. I also boil my peppers for about 5 minutes before I stuff them so they cook faster (350 degrees for about 25 minutes) and become a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
These were very good. I used red and orange peppers, I cooked them for 10 min in the microwave to cut down on the oven time. I also used brown rice and grated lite cheddar cheese. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was a good recipe to start with and change/build on. Instead of putting it on top at the end, I mixed the tomato sauce with morning star veggie crumbles and spooned that into the pepper as well so the rice would soak in the sauce. Everyone loved the peppers, even the carnivores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
SOOOOO good! I was brought up on the meat and rice filled stuffed peppers, so this was a new one for me, and I am so happy I tried it! I did add some corn to the rice and black bean mixture. Had extra mix left over, so I threw it in an omelet along with some mushrooms, bacon, and cheddar cheese, and it was fantastic! Thanks, Gwilyn, these are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States