Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
These are really great. I used a spicy tomato suce and added it to the stuffing. They turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I started by boiling the peppers for about ten minutes to achieve the the texture I wanted, and baked for about 30 minutes. I added corn to my beans and rice mixture and put a small slice of cheddar cheese in the middle of the rice and beans. It might be nice to add a little more. I topped the peppers with some diced tomatoes. We also put a bit of plain yogurt on top when we were eating them, and that was good. I think I'll like the leftover filling (there's a LOT) in some tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Pretty dang good! I added a healthy dose of cumin and a chopped tomato to add some bulk. I mixed the rice, beans, tomato, and tomato sauce all together and spooned that into the peppers. Added a layer of shredded mixed cheeses, more rice mixture, then topped w/ more cheese. Even my fiancee, who swears meat should be in every meal, loved this. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Phenomenal Dish!! I used shredded monterey jack because it's what I had. This was just too good to be true. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
My husband asked me to make this again, he loved it. I liked it too but felt there was something missing, it was a bit too bland. I followed other reviewers' suggestions of sauteing onion in olive oil and using taco seasoning since I didn't have chili powder. Maybe I'll add garlic next time. An overall very good recipe that is versatile for what you have on hand. I just have to figure out what would send it into fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I remember having stuffed green peppers as a kid (the meat kind) and hating them. These, on the other hand, were awesome! Not being a huge fan of black beans, I used pinto beans instead, but it still tasted just fine, and it was super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
The mixture of flavors in this recipe were great. The black beans were a great addition to a traditional vegetarian stuffed pepper. The only reason I gave it four stars is because I had to make one alteration. I mixed tomato sauce in with the black beans and rice to give it a nice moist texture. As the recipe called for I also poured some over the peppers at the end. If I did not add tomato sauce to the filling I think the peppers would have come out very dry on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMARIE1971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
So yummy and cheesy! Def. will make again, but will use more rice, didn't yield enough with the recipe amts...or the bells were too big!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hooligan77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
My family and I loooove this recipe and have made it many times! We make a few changes (like others have suggested): brown rice instead of white, usually we omit the swiss, and using the crushed tomato (as in another reviewer's comments) really adds the extra flavor needed. I, like the recipe poster, ate this meal with meat as a child, but we're close to vegetarians now. Thanks for this delicious version of a classic! It's highly recommended! Helpful hint: I insert 3 toothpicks into each pepper so they don't fall over while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Everyone (even non-vegetarians) that I've made these peppers for has loved them. Plus, they are very easy to make. Depending on what I have in the house I've substituted different types of beans, cheese and sauce and they always taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States