Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Made this last night as an alternative to ground beef stuffed peppers. Delicious! Only changes I made was to use brown rice, and colby cheese since that what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great idea to build on - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Im sorry to say I did not like this at all.I am used to not cooking the meat before baking.I like my stuffed peppers stuffed with a meatloaf type stuffing then baked.I figured I would try this to see if the cooking method was any better but I didnt like this at all.They were dry and crumbly due to cooking the meat before hand.I will stick to my old recipe from my mom.To each his own,I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very good but I did make some changes. Used brown rice. Fried an onion with some garlic before adding to beans and rice. Also added a bit of cumin and about 2 tbsp of fresh cilantro. Put can of tomato sauce right into the bean rice mixture before stuffing the peppers. Only sprinkled cheese on top, not inside the peppers to cut down on fat and calories. Great base recipe to play with. I will probably add more veggies next time to cut down on the beans and rice. Cooked in the microwave in about 30 minutes, then sprinkled cheese over top and put on for another 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These were great!! I followed the recipe loosely making a few small changes. I sauteed onion, garlic, the chile powder and a few cumin seeds in olive oil. When onion was golden, I added cooked brown rice and black beans. Before stuffing and baking, I had blanched the peppers, after removing membrane and seeds, I plunged into boiling water for about 1 minute followed by a quick plunge into cold water. After stuffing with rice/bean mixture, I topped each pepper with tomato sauce, and a good amount of grated cheddar cheese. I baked, covered with foil, until peppers were tender and cheese melted. I served with hot sauce and more tomato sauce. I love the fresh taste of organic Muir Glen tomato sauce which you can find in the natural food section of the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
My husband and I LOVED these. The kids wouldn't eat them... but what do they know? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This recipe "as is" is NOT good at all, but could be a good base to add upon... Onions, cumin, garlic, picante sauce, sharp cheese, all could do to make this recipe better. And plain tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
What a nice change from the usual ground beef stuffed peppers! Even my husband enjoyed them, and he doesn't like anything vegetarian. Nice and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This stuffed pepper recipe was wonderful! I did make a few changes after reading other reviews, though. I used brown instead of white rice. I added a bag of frozen veggie meat crumbles, I used grated pepperjack cheese instead of swiss because we like our food to be a little spicy. Also, instead of using tomato sauce, I used a can of spaghetti sauce to add extra flavor. The only things I'd do differently next time is to add more cheese than I did and either use bigger peppers or an extra one because I had a bit of filling left over. These were great and my husband even loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This recipe is good. I did make the following changes: I used Rice-a-roni spanish rice instead of brown; sharp cheddar cheese instead of swiss; and omitted the tomato sauce since the rice already used a can of diced tomatoes. Using pre-seasoned rice gave this a lot of flavor, though you lose the health benefit of brown rice. I also cut my peppers length wise (on accident) then put some cheese in the bottom, then rice filling, then cheese on top. Next time I will probably use red bell peppers for personal preference. Was really good for lunch the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States