Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I was running short on time so I ended up altering this recipe a lot. I liked it so much though that I'm adding it to my menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Great Recipe! My Vegetarian fiance loved them! I've never made stuffed peppers before, so I checked out a few before deciding on this one. I thought he'd like beans in it. (I added some random spices to the tomato sauce, plus some onion to the rice mixture. It would have been just as good without the added, though!) I will definitely make them again for him! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I also used instant brown rice (too much). I cooked peppers in microwave for 10 miniutes, as suggested by another. I mixed tomato sauce with beans and rice mix before stuffing. I also added 1 tbsp cumin, two cloves garlic and only 1/2 tsp chili powder. I didn't have swiss, so i used mozzarella. I cooked this with Chicken Breasts, but my Hubby and I prefered to eat only the peppers, maybe eat two smaller peppers next time as a meatless meal. BTW, the peppers were done before the chicken! Thanks everyone for the suggestions to cut back on time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I'm rating it 4 stars for the recipe as written. I've made it several times and the first couple times I goofed and added the tomato sauce to the rice/bean mixture. I also don't use sliced cheese but add shredded cheese to the bean-rice mixture. Of the two versions I've made, I like the one without the sauce mixed in (and I don't serve it on the side) better. In the future I may add some chopped onion to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I added cumin to this recipie. Taco seasoning with the rice would also be good. Very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Made this for my husband for dinner - I didn't eat them b/c I went out of town. It smelled good coming out of the oven, but the filling did not have much flavor. He wasn't too impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
A great all-in-one dish vegetarian meal! As others did I used this as a start and made modifications with what I had on hand. I usually don't buy green peppers but I neighbor gave us some from their garden and they turned out great with all the other flavors from the stuffing. I sauted half an onion and 3 garlic cloves and then cooked a brown rice mix in that, and added it to the beans when done. I didn't have swiss cheese so used jack, and I used leftover pasta sauce in place of the tomato sauce. To cut down on fat I only put cheese on top, but it would be yummy with gooey cheese layers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
It wasn't bad - just a little bland. I'll make it again but add a few different things to spice it up a bit. I really liked using beans instead of meat. And I think it doesn't need to cook for 45 minutes at 400 F. Mine were ready after only 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernabell24

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe was delicious and as others have noted, quite adaptable! I used yellow and orange peppers in place of green, and used a wild rice mix in combination with a bit of white rice. I also didn't have swiss cheese so instead used up some shredded cheddar that I had on hand. The stuffing is a great vehicle for using up leftovers. I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Delicious! I've made Kelsey's favorite peppers from the site and that is pretty good but my husband and I decided these were much better! I used cheddar cheese and only put a half slice on the bottom and a slice on top...I also used half brown and half white rice (what i had on hand) and used diced tomatoes with jalapenos for some kick which we love! Added about half the amount of chili powder and about 1 1/2 tsp-2 tsp of garlic salt...yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States