Stuffed Green Peppers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was (unbelievably) my first time making stuffed peppers. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. The peppers were perfectly cooked and seasoned. The filling was absolutely delicious - my husband and teenagers loved it. THE ONLY THING we did NOT like was the tomato soup gravy! It really took the meal down a whole notch. The peppers were swimming in tomato soup. I think next time I would make my own tomato puree to put on top, with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Elhart Legere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mare
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Delicious! I usually cook for just me, so I cut down the recipe to only make 2 peppers. I added more rice and used one red and one orange pepper instead of green. The tomato soup on top flavors it lovely! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
We really enjoyed this dish! It was very easy, just boil and brown meat, and then add everything together, pretty foolproof! I also used beef broth instead of water, and I did use Minute rice, which I think would solve others' problem of the rice not being done, because mine was perfect. The peppers were done perfectly, still firm and not soggy, even after baking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I don't like green bell peppers...so I always use red/yellow/orange variety. It really adds the perfect sweetness to stuffed peppers. We are eating healthy, so we used ground turkey instead of ground beef and quinoa instead of rice. I also added a couple links of Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage for flavor because I usually gook with Italian sausage rather than ground beef when I'm not eating healthy. ;-) Also...I doubled the Worcestershire and added garlic and Italian seasoning to the meat mixture. I always put balsamic into my tomato sauce before I poured it over the peppers. I made this in the slow-cooker and therefore did not cook the meat or peppers before hand. Perhaps I should just create a new recipe...stay tuned...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. Simple and easy to make. Only substitution I make is that I use a good spagetti sauce instead of tomato soup. Not a fan of the bland soup on top, but with this change it tastes amazing (to me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApBaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I used Morningstar Veggie Crumbles to make it vegetarian. Also used brown rice and a can of diced tomatoes. Came out amazing. This was such a simple meal with things I had on hand. Definitely the best stuffed peppers I have ever had and made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meigz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
We love this recipe and make it at least once a month. The only changes I make now is to use the rice cooker for the rice because I'm notorious for under cooking the rice, which is no fault of the recipe. Other than that I made it just as written. The other change is that I use three large green peppers instead of six since there are only three of us. Makes an entire meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I modified this recipe to my family's liking, but since it's so similar, I gave it a five star review. First, I cut the tops off five green peppers, and cleaned them out. I cooked up a 1/2 cup instant rice. In another pan,heated a can of tomato soup with water. Next, I took 1 1b hamburg meat, diced onion, not measuring, just adding enough to my liking. I also added black pepper, and garlic powder. Next, I added the rice, and mixed together. Then I stuffed all the peppers, put them in a casserole dish, and poured the tomato soup over them. I bake at 350 degrees, for 1 hour. I just put them together, and they are in the oven for tonight's supper. We'll have it with rye bread and a salad. This is a family favorite, one I learned from my Mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I also changed the recipe a tad. It is a great starting base recipe. My changes included using red peppers, barley instead of rice (just felt like it) I used fresh frozen tomatoes from the garden. I also browned up some garlic (also from the garden) in olive oil then cooked the onions some. I also added an italian seasoning. Haven't eaten the cooked pepper yet - they are still baking. But the left over stuffing is Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have made this three times in the last month. I even made the last batch with Morning Star Farms Beef Crumbles for my vegetarian wife. It is awesome either way. I do use a homemade barbque sauce instead of the tomato soup. I think it makes it pop. I also use two table spoons of Worcester Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gurgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States