Stuffed Green Peppers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I followed this pretty closely, and they turned out great. They will be in the use-up-summer-garden menu from now on. Only changes: fresh garden tomatoes instead of canned, used fewer peppers because my garden peppers are huge this year so I cut them in half lengthwise to have more filling-to-pepper ratio, and only used one can tomato soup to top (I think two would have been overkill).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Best stuffed peppers ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Lovely recipe, thanks! I tweaked it a bit … not keen on green peppers so I used orange and yellow instead and I didn't boil the peppers (totally skipped the first step) since they will be baked and prefer a crisp texture when plated. I also 'kicked it up a notch' because of the comments re: flavour. I added a dash of Frank's Hot Sauce after frying the beef and onions, 1 clove of diced garlic and taco & cajun seasoning on top of the cheese. I added a can of 'fire roasted' diced tomatoes and used cheese in the mixture, as noted in the recipe, but I also added more old cheddar cheese on top of the tomato sauce. I used 4 peppers and approx. 3/4 cup hamburger, 1/2 onion and 1/2 cup uncooked rice which cooked nicely while simmering in the pan. I baked then broiled the stuffed peppers. We really enjoyed this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Followed recipe exactly except added a bit of garlic. Overall I was worried it'll be bland and just not as good as our old family recipe.... My kids LOVED it! It's hard to get my 7 y.o. To eat anything and between him and his friend they ate 3!!! He asks me to make at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lubimaya5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Easy to make. Delicious. Few substitutes. Chicken instead of beef. Couscous instead of rice. Salsa instead of tomato soup. Shredded parmesan instead of cheddar. Also, up the worchestershire (sp?). I used the whole sliced top as a base to keep the peppers from toppling over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great. Followed suggestions and used chopped tomatoes with garlic and basil; added basil, oregano and italian season. Made the tomato sauce with 1 can of soup and 1/2 can of water and just poured into the mixture before putting in peppers. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I have made stuffed peppers for years, but this is the best! I did add a little garlic. I don't care for tomato soup so I use 1 small can of tomato sauce. I thought it needed a little more cheese. I also had meat loaf mix in the freezer so used that rather than just hamburger meat, don't know if that made a big difference.. How great it was that they changed the ingredients for just 2 peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I liked these, but I'm not sure I'll make it again. I agree with the previous reviewers that the dish lacked a little something. If I do try this recipe again I will definitely add a little hot sauce or something to add some more complexity to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as the directions said. My family loved these stuffed peppers. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karolyn Abreu
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Definately a hit in my household. I did take some shortcuts to ensure speed. I cooked the rice separately and then just incorporated into the cooked seasoned meat when it was done. Also, instead of a tomato soup, I just used a medium can of tomato sauce - I find that it doesn't have as much seasonings so you better control of your flavors. The best part is that kids love the insides. So when one requested just the inside and not the pepper, I just put some to the side and it makes a good meal all on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States