Stuffed Green Peppers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I didn't give it 5 stars 'cause I made changes based on others' suggestions that I felt improved the recipe. I halved the peppers (lengthwise), sauted onions separately along with 2 minced garlic pieces, cooked the rice separately, used 1 can of DICED tomatoes* (why would you ever buy a can of tomatoes and THEN dice them?), and mixed the ingredients together after browning the beef**, allowing them to warm slightly in the skillet before stuffing into the peppers. You can use the extra juice from the can of tomatoes to keep the rice from burning. I also added quite a bit of basil, oregano, and Italian seasoning, as well as extra Worcestershire sauce. Putting just a little cheese in the bottom of each pepper helped as well. Lastly, I only used one can of tomato soup. Even cut in half, 25 min was needed to get them nice & hot. Next time, I'll try adding some pepper as well. * Using a can of diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers adds just the right amount of kick to these! **You can also use 1/2 beef & 1/2 3-7% lean ground turkey to reduce fat content...tastes the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
great recipe. I cut the amount of rice in half. Only thing I would change is at the end. Fill in the peppers halfway with the beef mixture. Add a bit of tomato sauce and fill up the rest with beef mixture and top with tomato sauce again. The problem with only topping off the tomato sauce at the end was that it did not "seep" down as I expected it. So the top only had the tomato sauce and the bottom did not. Without the tomato sauce, the beef was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Wonderful! My whole family enjoyed these. I'll definitely make this again. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and a can of petite diced tomatoes w/ liquid instead of whole toms. Used Arborio rice as that's what I had in the pantry. Added minced garlic to the meat mixture. I substituted 1/2 C. of beef broth instead of plain water. Used 1 can of tomato soup & 1 sm. can of tomato sauce w/ a TBS or two of Spaghetti Sauce Seasoning. Excellent, healthy, and much better than the stuffed peppers I had as a child. I think that par-boiling the peppers before stuffing them was key to the texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
899 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I have made these several times and they have been perfect everytime with some little adjustments. I double the worcestershire sauce, add garlic with the onions, put the cheese on top of the stuffed peppers, and use tomato paste instead of soup with about a tablespoon of lemon juice. Fabulous comfort food and very healthy! Note: I have also used both ground chicken and turkey and also had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
These were the best stuffed peppers I have ever had. I only made some minor changes. I used 5 peppers instead of 6, and there was just barely enough filling. I used onion powder instead of onion, tomato sauce instead of tomato soup and beef broth instead of water for the rice. I also added another half cup of cheese, but I don't think a little more would hurt. They taste even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Yum yum! I've never made stuffed peppers before. These were great! I used ground turkey instead of beef b/c we're trying to eat healthier. Used Uncle Ben's converted Rice, in my opinion it is the best rice in a box. Used a large can of diced tomatoes, undrained. Did not even use tomato soup, I don't think you need to. After stuffing my peppers with the mixture, I just placed them right side up in a greased 9x13. Biggest tip - boil your peppers for a good 5 minutes in the beginning, before stuffing them, and make sure they are fully submerged beneath the water. If not, you will likely end up with pretty raw, crunchy peppers even after baking, unless you like to eat them that way. One of my peppers was like this, it was the one that never got submerged when boiling. The main thing I love about this recipe - you get your meat, starch, and green veggie all in one shot, and it is delicious and healthy! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I don't like green peppers but hubby loves them so I had to give this a try. He raved about this one! I did add a tablespoon of minced garlic to the meat mixture and put grated sharp cheddar cheese on the tops of the peppers during the last five minutes of baking. I'll be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
I thought these were good but I have had better. Per previous reviews, I too added a bay leaf, a beef bullion cube and a tsp of oregano when cooking the rice. I also used sharp cheddar cheese. Although there is rice in the peppers, we served over additional white rice so we could spoon the sauce over all. Although we liked the meal, I feel it needs a little more "umph" to top it off. It has great potential and I will probally make again only I'll play around with it to find the right blend to fully satisfy our tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
The sausage was a nice change from the usual ground beef or turkey. I didn't par cook the peppers and top of stove cook time was much less than an hour. Otherwise the recipe was a breeze. I didn't see anyone else mention this in the reviews, but 3 cups of rice would have been ridiculously way too much. I didn't even use two full cups of uncooked rice and it was plenty for the six peppers. I also didn't use instant rice, so maybe that's what made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
This was wonderful! I couldn't remember how my mom made them, but this recipe turned out just like hers! I used tomato sauce instead of tomato soup (I didn't have any on hand), and I used a cup of corn instead of the cheese...it tasted just like home! Thanks Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States