Stuffed Green Peppers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I agree with some of the recommended changes. My family and friends also prefer the red, orange or yellow peppers over the green peppers. I find frying the onions first works better for me in most recipes. I placed the peppers in the microwave to soften them, but boiling them also works well. I used 500 g beef and 250 g pork, also spicy tomatoe sauce rather than tomatoe soup. I used a bag of shredded white cheeses and added them to the bottom of each half pepper first than added a bit more on the top of each pepper. This recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I thought it was more than a wonderful base recipe. We all take recipes & tweak to our own taste buds, so that is what I did. I increased the onion to one half, added a stalk of celery, two garlic cloves chopped & as others suggested extra Worcestershire sauce. I used one cup "cooked" rice, Rotel diced fired roasted tomatoes with chilis, cayenne pepper, a little italian seasong (dont know why, just cause i use it allot) seasoning salt, lemon pepper, 1/2 can of Mexican corn. In the end, i just added the tomato soup to the entire mixture. All was done taste testing along the way of course. This lovely mixture was generously stuffed into brightly colored yellow and orange par boiled peppers. Then before putting in the oven, topping with yummy ooey gooey cheese & crunchy panko crumbs. Mmmmmmm, the elation of my taste buds say "its a keeper"! Because I used more hamburger than recommended & other additions that increased the quantity, I had some left over stuffing. I labeled this & put into the freezer for some day when I need a short cut meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I changed it a bit - I used yellow, red, and orange peppers to make it more colorful. I browned the meat first, then I browned the onions, and cooked the rice before adding to the ground beef. I added some Cumin, garlic, and onion powder. The guys loved it so I guess it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Made this for the boyfriend and it has become one of our favorite things to eat. Keep in mind, I never was a fan of bell peppers until this recipe. Some tips: I prefer using red, yellow, and orange bell peppers; they give a sweeter taste. Also, when browning the meat, I added some Italian seasoning, tripled the Worcestershire sauce, and added minced garlic. (or else the meat will be bland.) Cook the rice beforehand. With the tomato soup, skip adding water; it'll make it too runny. Fill in the peppers halfway with the beef mixture. Add a bit of tomato sauce and fill up the rest with beef mixture and top with tomato sauce again. This will allow the soup to seep to the bottom and give more flavor. Using diced canned tomatoes saves time on chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Great taste. Easy but time consuming. I added some hot pepper flakes. Need to bake 40-45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I love stuffed peppers and this has to be one of my favourite recipes. DELISH! I prefer red peppers so used them as well. I also always blanch my green peppers to avoid an after taste. I also bought diced tomatoes (skip the chopping the tomatoes step). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I changed a few things....I added Italian seasoning and Mrs. Dash and used coby/jack cheese and mozzarella too the recipe ...My husband said it was a keeper...will have it again for sure......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannonLI
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Just used this recipe as my first try at cooking stuffed peppers and it was amazing! Did make some adjustments according to other users reviews - tripled the Worcestershire sauce, added oregano, a few pinches of cayenne for a little kick, minced garlic and used Uncle Ben's boil in a bag rice (which I think is always good!) also used 1.35lbs of ground beef with about 1&1/2 cups of the rice, and purchased pre-diced tomatoes. Paired the dish with corn, garlic bread and a caprese salad - delicious!!! My boyfriend was raving and even better - we have leftovers for tomorrow! This is a must make and will repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
These were decent. My husband and I weren't blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
These were awesome and so easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States