Stuffed Green Peppers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Love this recipe!! It is a big one in our house. Only gave it 4 stars because had to make some changes after reading some reviews. I cut the tops off the peppers and boil them for 3-4 minutes, after that I put some seasoning and cheese at the bottom of the peppers. While browning the meat I add a lot of basil, oregano, italian seasoning and galic salt. After I drain the meat (which you don't really have to do cause it isn't that greasy depending on the percentage you use) I will add more seasoning while it simmers. I buy the canned diced tomatoes with basil,garlic and oregano already in them. After simmering, ill sometimes add a few dashes of Frank's red hot to spice it up a bit. I add the cheese while it is still warm so its gooey and melted. Only one can of soup is really needed, and sometimes I water it down and other times I don't. Not a huge fan of tomato soup so I really only use half the can when its watered down. This really is a awesome recipe, just can come out a bit bland and needs a little hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Instead of using bell peppers I used pumpkins, the little ones, and instead of tomatoes I used watermelon that I had put thru the blender. Also, instead of rice I used marshmallows. I didn't like it all; I wonder what went wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Easy and delicious. There were a few things I changed to incorporate my family's taste buds but over all, good eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was amazing. I had never made stuffed peppers before this was easy and my family LOVED them. I personally used red and orange peppers for a slightly sweeter taste. This is definately on our make again list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Made pretty much as is but used mild Italian sausage instead of beef. So much more flavor, super yummy, a new regular favorite on our monthly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very easy to do and tastes great. I used sodium free tomato soup and canned tomato's, which I think took away from the savoury flavour, but overall very good and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
After reading the reviews I decided to spice the peppers up. Instead of diced tomatoe I used Ro-tel medium tomatoes. They come in 10 oz cans so used 2 cans and measured out the 14.50 oz needed and used the rest in the tomato soup . My husband loved it. Gale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plainfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars because of the headache it caused from using the uncooked rice as directed. To save yourself the hassle of having hard, undercooked rice, COOK THE RICE AHEAD of time then add it to the mixture! Aside from the rice fiasco the recipe IS good. I followed others recommendations of sautéing a Tablespoon or more of minced garlic with the meat, using diced tomatoes, doubling the Worcheser sauce, using beef broth instead of the 1/2 cup of water and adding some Italian seasoning. I also chopped up a whole bag of baby spinach and added it with the mixture for extra flavor, texture, color and nutrients. This is a good base recipe but I think it would come out rather bland if you don't add your own extra seasonings to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smurray22
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. I added basil, salt, and pepper to the tomato soup to give it a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lupine
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Just finished devouring these. I altered it a little. I minced a clove or garlic and added it along with some garlic powder, oregano, and basil to the meat mixture. I also added a small can of tomato paste, oregano, and basil to the soup mixture. I used red and yellow bell peppers and sprinkled extra cheddar on top of them for the last stage of cooking (maybe last 5 minutes or so). Stuffing was a little wet, but man was it tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States