Stuffed Grape Leaves (Dolmades) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Used garam Marsala in place of mint. Added lemon to chicken stock in place of just water-used a cover as they simmered. Made a dipping sauce of raspberry balsamic, raspberry jam and Thai hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I really enjoyed making this as well as eating it. I used Johnsonville all natural ground sausage instead of the lamb. The flavor of the sausage is very nice mix with the grape leaves,mint and onion flavors. I will be doing this again. So amazingly filling and I loved the crunchiness of the pine nuts. Very nice thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is an okay recipe, but NEVER use canned grape leaves from a store. Wild ones are the way to go. They are more tender than store- bought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Wow! What an amazing recipe. I actually didn't use any rice at all, since I was serving to someone who couln't eat rice and I added a little bit more of the nuts. I also added some fresh mint. I baked these too as I didn't have pot big enough or the stove space. I used a deep dish and added some water and covered them to allow for them to be steamed. They turned out great! Some pomegranate concentrate goes great with these! Just like back home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These are really tasty, i grew up with Stuffed Grape Leaves, so it was a challenge finding a good recipe that met my expectations...this one is really GOOD! the only changes i made, were instead of cooking in water, i used a combination of chicken broth, some lemon and some tomato sauce. THat gave it more of a tangy full flavor. My brother couldnt get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used ground sirloin because my market didn't have ground lamb. I used to eat these at a Greek restaurant in my home town. I moved to a different city and there are no such restaurants here. This is the closest that I could get to satisfy my craving for those delicious grape leaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Z

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These turned out pretty well. Next time I will season the meat a little more thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
These tasted excellent, but I had to cook them longer than the 50 to 55 minutes stated in the recipe to get the rice cooked. Next time I'll add a little lemon juice since that was the only flavor missing, in my opinion. Very very tasty as written though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I hate to change someone else's recipe but I made this with ground pork because my family does not like lamb. It was really good and my grandsons loved it. I served it with Tzatziki and that made a nice taste combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I love Dolma its actually my fav. Iraqi dish,but it has to be done the right way. The Iraqi version uses lemon juice,pomegranet molases,and sugar with the water for cooking and flavoring these tastey lil things. Oh and a bit of EVOO drizzeled in with the water would glaze it extra beautifully! YUM! This recipe however is worth a try because any middle eastern version of Dolmas or Waraq inab is delicious really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States