Stuffed French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
One of my favorite things to serve to my girlfriends. Big time comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I made this with challah bread and it was absolutely wonderful!!! Even my husband who doesn't like cream cheese loved it. I added raspberry preserves in the center with the cream cheese. Could also use other jams or preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Excellent recipe - my husband and I both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was delicious. I recommend spreading the cream cheese out, just for uniformity, and adding a spoonful of strawberry jam (microwaved, to make spreading easier). Also, the recipe called for vanilla, but I did not see it in the steps? I added it to the egg mixture, and that worked great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I like the idea of using french bread for french toast instead of just the regular square bread. I used strawberry "simply fruit" along with the cream cheese and it was great. The next time I make this I will use a little more cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was delicious!! I made this for my family and everybody came back for seconds. I made a couple slight variations. Instead of making a slit in one slice, I just put some cream cheese between two slices of french bread. I figured that, that would be easier and it turned out great. Instead of using orange marmalade, I used frozen strawberries in sugar and a bit of powdered sugar. I have already been asked to make this again!! Definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Absolutely wonderful! Be careful not to stuff too much cream cheese in there, but, this was absolutely excellent. And the marmalade was a nice touch, do try it even if you're skeptical. You'll need a bit more butter to cook them in....this one goes straight into the recipe box permanently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I'm giving this only three stars because it wasn't as good as it sounded, and considering how fattening it is it should have been better! First of all, prep was a pain. I had a hard time slicing the bread just right, and an even harder time fitting the cream cheese in the pockets. Second of all, I just wasn't impressed with the flavor. It was kind of bland. Now, I will admit that I didn't use liqueur because the thought of it at 8:00 in the morning made me sick so I used french vanilla creamer instead (like the submitter suggests). I have used creamer when making french toast before and it always makes it excellent. Not this time. I also ran out of egg mixture before coating all of the slices but had extra cream cheese. Also, needed twice as much butter. But, I will say that the orange marmalade was great, it was the only part of this dish I really liked. Also, here's a tip I learned: Use clarified butter to cook the french toast in, that way it won't burn. Melt your butter beforehand and as it cools, skim off the white cloudy part with a spoon and use only the clear yellow butter remaining. Thanks for sharing but I really doubt I will bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I adapted this to a moderately low-carb recipe with good results. I used Nature's Own wheat and fiber bread and just spread the cream cheese on one slice, sandwiching it between another. It held together just fine. When it was done, I served it with tons of butter and a little sugar-free syrup. Probably sounds gross to those of you not doing low-carb, but I really found it delicious! The french toast tasted like regular french toast, and the warm, melted cream cheese made it wonderful! Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I made this for Easter Brunch and was sooo disappointed. I followed the recipe and substituted non dairy creamer as suggested infact I used Cinnamon Vanilla Creme creamer and the recipe was soooooo bland. I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States