Stuffed Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
DELICIOUS! This tasted exactly like the Crab stuffed Sole I get at Red Lobster! However, I will note that I made a few alterations... I used flounder fillets instead of whole flounder (I spread the filling between two large fillets). I also used SHRIMP instead of crab because it's all I had and I was craving a stuffed fish entreé. If you don't like crab, or you find it's just too expensive - shrimp makes an excellent substitute! In an effort to cut back on some fat/calories - I only used 2 T butter for the mixture instead of the 1/3 cup as called for. The mixture didn't seem as moist, but once it baked with the fish - it was perfect. I also used seasoned breadcrumbs and homemade cajun seasoning (salt, pepper, garlic powder, chili powder, and paprika). I mixed a little cajun seasoning in the butter I used to rub the fillets with... Awesome recipe- thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
FAB-U-LOUS!! My fiance' thought I was a gourmet chef. Though, I must admit that I added my own little touch as I always do. I used fillets instead of the whole flounder and in the crab mixture, I added a touch of mayo. I buttered both sides of the fillet, rolled it up with the mixture, seam side down and spinkled the top with a little Adobo and paprika. Thanks Therese.... you make me look good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
Very good recipe, though I must say, I am a Marylander and didn't have "Cajun" seasoning, so I used Old Bay instead. I also omitted the 1/2 large onion chopped. It takes awhile to chop all the ingredients, but it is an easy recipe and the end result had a restaurant-quality taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I used tilapia filets instead, and rolled them up like jelly rolls and secured with toothpicks. You can then cut them into circles for a nice presentation or serve as-is. This got rave reviews. My father-in-law doesn't like fish and even he liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Therese I thank you! Thank you thank you! Please allow me describe my version of your delicious dinner: I used sockeye salmon, 1 lb skin-on fillet. I also brushed the fish on all sides w lemon-parsley butter, (1/4 cup each lemon & butter w chopped fresh parsley) The stuffing I went nuts on, you may want to try this: brown the breadcrumbs in 2 Tbsp butter and put in mixing bowl, sautee onions w garlic & celery, I also added 7 oz imitation crab, (which I usually don't like!), zest of 2 lemons, 1 egg beaten, 2 Tbsp of capers. Oh yeah! After placing fish on foil lined cookie sheet i mound the stuffing on top and brush it w the rest of the butter mixture. I used lite butter all throughout, and a bit of olive oil for the sautee. Besides salt & pepper I just let the fresh flavors come through and it rocked. Couldn't have done it without your recipe though and I thank you for getting me to start a membership w this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
WOW! This recipe was absolutely delicious!! The only difference from actual recipe was that I used filets because that was what I had. I didn't top a filet with another I just topped the filet with the stuffing and baked. Even my kids who normally dislike fish, they don't even care for fish sticks, LOVED this! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was wonderful. I did use fillets instead of whole flounder. I sandwiched the filling between 2 fillets and it was fabulous. Will definitely make again (and I am not a huge seafood eater!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is my favorite dish at a seafood restaurant and have been trying to find a recipe as good as theirs. This is it! I used whitefish instead of flounder and imitation crab instead of real. It was so good. My entire family liked it and wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was excellent! My whole family loved it! This could be served to guests it was so good. I'm not a fish lover but I thought this was great! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I thought this was easy,but it looked like I slaved over it all day. Very, very tasty too! I used sweet red pepper instead of the bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States