Stuffed Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My family was disappointed in the lack of flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME!!! A "family restaurant" once had a seafood dish w/ crab stuffing that I loved, and is now discontinued... This tastes exactly like it :) I am a very happy camper and will make this over & over again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I used this recipe on Thanksgiving. It was a big hit with the family. It actually got more reviews than the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I am giving it 5 stars because if we had used the Old Bay, which I did not have, it would have been out of this world. But, even without the Old Bay, it was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
DELICIOUS! This tasted exactly like the Crab stuffed Sole I get at Red Lobster! However, I will note that I made a few alterations... I used flounder fillets instead of whole flounder (I spread the filling between two large fillets). I also used SHRIMP instead of crab because it's all I had and I was craving a stuffed fish entreé. If you don't like crab, or you find it's just too expensive - shrimp makes an excellent substitute! In an effort to cut back on some fat/calories - I only used 2 T butter for the mixture instead of the 1/3 cup as called for. The mixture didn't seem as moist, but once it baked with the fish - it was perfect. I also used seasoned breadcrumbs and homemade cajun seasoning (salt, pepper, garlic powder, chili powder, and paprika). I mixed a little cajun seasoning in the butter I used to rub the fillets with... Awesome recipe- thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I loved it! My husband made it for me tonight but he had to use extra virgin olive oil because we didn't have butter on hand (that should have never happened! its like a sin in our house!!) but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I was trying to find sole at the fish market but the prices were unbelievably expensive. One of the fish mongers recommended baby flounder so I went with that. I made this crab sauce for on top of the fish, along with a splash of sherry for added "oomph". Wonderful, mild tasting fish, and the sauce was decadent! The crab really made it ultra-gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I made this last week. None of the family liked it. The texture of the crab wasn't good - too soft and mushy. Also didn't like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I used tilapia since I don't like flounder (I just put the stuffing on top) and it was good. I felt it needed something so I added some Old Bay seasoning. We enjoyed it! Oh, and I also used canned crab (the premium white crabmeat kind), so the recipe is quite forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I tried to reduce the fat in this recipe by cutting back on the butter - bad idea. It was a bit dry and lacked flavor. I will try again full strength. I used filets and rolled them up - worked very well. I also used old bay seasoning instead of the cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States