Stuffed Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I have made this twice now. The first time I found the stuffing a bit bland and the steak came out overcooked in the oven. The second time, I used regular onions, satued them in olive oil, added 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, 2 cloves minced garlic and 1/2 cup slivered pancetta. Rub the outside of the roast with olive oil, rosemary, garlic and salt and pepper. I briefly browned the roast on all sides on the stovetop and then placed in the oven for 30 minutes. I added 1/2 cup of red wine, 2 tablespoons unsalted butter and 1 cup sliced mushrooms to the pan drippings to make the sauce to serve over the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This was a great recipe!! I had no intention of making this at first. I had defrosted a flank steak and was going to cook plain on the grill and then looked for a recipe containing flank steak. I already marinated it with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and steak seasoning for a few hours so wasnt sure how it would incorporate into this recipe but it did. Also instead of brown gravy I used a can of campbells brown gravy w/onions (i also didnt have wine but the seasoning from my marinade was enough) which gave it a fabulous taste. I pounded down the meat as much as I could beforehand and also did additional seasoning of salt throughout to make sure it had flavor which it definitely did. I had to do a bit of a butterfly cut on both sides of the meat to ensure that I had enough room to roll it with all of the stuffing. I tied it with string and put toothpicks at the ends to be sure everything stayed in. I also put a bit of mozzarella. I cooked an hour and it came out perfectly and pretty tender, even my two young kids liked this recipe which is surprising as not alot of children like steak. My family liked this recipe and I was pretty impressed with the results. Dont hesitate to make this. I now have something else to cook other than the normal boring things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This IS the recipe!! It makes you feel like Emerils dad or something!! I couldn't imagine something so simple to put together with better presentation. A little red wine in the mushroom gravy makes it even better!! 4 Stars does not do this recipe justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My mother *god rest her soul* made this dish and everytime she made it, my step-dad would say AMBROSIA and he'd have twinkles in his eyes! As I only had a .95 of a pound of flank steak, I had to recalculate for the 2 servings measurements. I used one cup of a stove top chicken stuffing mix. To this I added one stalk of chopped celery and half of a regular yellow onion which I sautee'ed both for a few minutes before adding it to the bread crumbs. Instead of water, I just happened to have some College Inn Beef Broth opened so in it went! Pounded meat then seasoned both sides with some Mc Cormicks Steakhouse Grinder Seasoning and Fresh Cracked Pepper. Did'nt add any additional salt as the butter is salted and so is the broth. To a jar of Heinz Savory Brown Gravy went in the wine, parmesan cheese and garlic. Top back on, I gave it a good shaking *notice how you dont have to use a separate dish for this step* ;-) Served over egg free noodles with some french style green beans *drool* This truly is Ambrosia at its finest and I highly recommend eveyone try this recipe! P.S., please please please make sure to let the steak rest for awhile before slicing, it helps keep the stuffing intact! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA
Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
If you're looking for a new way to cook flank steak THIS IS IT! It was easy and delicious! I used a 2lb. steak and left everthing the same and it was perfect! I wouldn't dream of doubling the gravy because this would seriously detract from the wonderful flavors of the steak and stuffing. It's a keeper and makes great leftovers too! Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Very easy, good and elegant to serve! I used someone's suggestion and make a double batch of gravy with fresh mushrooms and saved half of it to serve with the roast. I also added rosemary to give a better flavor. I pounded and marinated the meat overnight with red wine, steak seasoning and soy sauce and it make the flavor bake through the meat! I baked for only 50 minutes because I like my meat med-well and it was perfect! This recipe was very moist but I must admit that I opened the oven half way through cooking and put the fallen gravey back on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very tasty! this is a very rich meal so be careful what you serve with it. Origionally I served it with Asparagus rolatina-not a good choice as both are rich. Now,I keep the side dishes light with just a salad and steamed vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I found that the 2cups of stuffing was too much. However, I added half a small can of chopped mushrooms to the stuffing and put the remaining mushrooms in the sauce. Also, I cooked the flank steak for about 50 minutes-we like it more on the rare side-and it was great! I will definietly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I did a lot of alterations to this. I stuffed the flank steak with fresh spinach and Onion Rice (see recipe on this website) I didn't have mushroom gravy, so I used cream of mushroom soup instead. My family loved it! Thanks for the recipe and idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I made this for my husband for Valentine's Day, and he loved it. Next time I will season the meat for a little more flavor, but it's definitely worth making again. Oh, also, do double the recipe for the gravy. This is one of those recipes that appears much more gourmet and "fancy" when it is finished, more so than it is. Good for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States