Stuffed Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I found that the 2cups of stuffing was too much. However, I added half a small can of chopped mushrooms to the stuffing and put the remaining mushrooms in the sauce. Also, I cooked the flank steak for about 50 minutes-we like it more on the rare side-and it was great! I will definietly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Delicious! I didn't put the gravy/sauce on though because I don't like to take away from the taste of the beef. It was delicious and the cooking time on the recipe was perfect - rare in the middle and more well done towards the ends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This was a great recipe!! I had no intention of making this at first. I had defrosted a flank steak and was going to cook plain on the grill and then looked for a recipe containing flank steak. I already marinated it with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and steak seasoning for a few hours so wasnt sure how it would incorporate into this recipe but it did. Also instead of brown gravy I used a can of campbells brown gravy w/onions (i also didnt have wine but the seasoning from my marinade was enough) which gave it a fabulous taste. I pounded down the meat as much as I could beforehand and also did additional seasoning of salt throughout to make sure it had flavor which it definitely did. I had to do a bit of a butterfly cut on both sides of the meat to ensure that I had enough room to roll it with all of the stuffing. I tied it with string and put toothpicks at the ends to be sure everything stayed in. I also put a bit of mozzarella. I cooked an hour and it came out perfectly and pretty tender, even my two young kids liked this recipe which is surprising as not alot of children like steak. My family liked this recipe and I was pretty impressed with the results. Dont hesitate to make this. I now have something else to cook other than the normal boring things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was fabulous and my family loved it. I used a green pepper instead of the red and used brown gravy instead of the mushroom gravy and doubled the gravy. I sauteed mushrooms and added them to the top after it came out of the oven and it made a great presentation and was a great addition Thanks for the recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was a really good one. I thought the gravy was a little overpowering in taste, but I'm not much of a gravy person. Will definitly make this again. Maybe next time I'll experiment a bit with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I have made this twice now. The first time I found the stuffing a bit bland and the steak came out overcooked in the oven. The second time, I used regular onions, satued them in olive oil, added 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, 2 cloves minced garlic and 1/2 cup slivered pancetta. Rub the outside of the roast with olive oil, rosemary, garlic and salt and pepper. I briefly browned the roast on all sides on the stovetop and then placed in the oven for 30 minutes. I added 1/2 cup of red wine, 2 tablespoons unsalted butter and 1 cup sliced mushrooms to the pan drippings to make the sauce to serve over the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Used comments from other reviewers and marinaded the steak first. Did not use the peppers or onion, but still found it great. Enjoyed this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfish1282

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I did a lot of alterations to this. I stuffed the flank steak with fresh spinach and Onion Rice (see recipe on this website) I didn't have mushroom gravy, so I used cream of mushroom soup instead. My family loved it! Thanks for the recipe and idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I wasn't very impressed. I thought that the meat would have more flavor from the seasonings used in the gravy & stuffing but it didn't. I was also expecting the meat to be a little more tender. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I made this using Monterey Style Musroom and Onion stuffing and cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic. In addition, I added thin slices of colby jack cheese before rolling. This was a great, tasty, EASY recipe and a hit with my family. I think it will become one of my staple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States